Review MÄRVEL ‘Double Decade’

Swedish Märvel started 2002 which means that the band is a bit more than 20 years in business. Starting with the very first EP ‘Marvellous’ the trio started a exciting journey through the world of rock, adding in total of nine studio records to the books.

Märvel, that is John Steen (The King), Ulrik Bostedt (Speedo) and Tony Samuelsson (The Vicar). The three guys took the opportunity to have a view back on two decades of Märvel. This results in an album called ‘Double Decade’ which will be released in February this year.

One could say that ‘Double Decade’ is a kind of ‘best of…’ album. The release features 23 songs from the Märvel releases. From the stellar opener ‘The Hills Have eyes’ to the closing chapter ‘These Boots are Made for Flying’ the record features high-octane rock. It is a pleasure listening to these classic rock-based songs that unveil the beauty of rock music.  Märvel never counted on trends and hypes. The three guys follow their musical instinct and passion which allows them to write music with heart and soul.

The sound of the trio reflects the essence of rock music without any gimmicks or frills. Tunes like ‘I Wanna Know You (Just a Little Bit Better)’ and ‘Son of a Gypsy’ are great songs and ear candy at the same time. And to make things more exciting, the trio added with the blistering ‘Catch 22’ and ‘Turn the Page’ two new songs, mixed by Robert Pehrsson (Dundertåget, Death Breath, Robert Pehrsson’s Humbucker)

All the songs on ‘Double Decade’ are newly mastered by Magnus Lindberg (The Hellacopters, Imperial State Electric, Cult Of Luna, The Datsuns, Tribulation, Lucifer)

‘Double Decade’ contains a lot of exquisite music. The organic sound of these tracks is a treat for ears and mind, a musical oasis in a hectic world. Cheers and raise your glasses to the next 20 years of Märvel music.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. The Hills Have Eyes
  2. Remember
  3. The Effort
  4. Thunderblood Heart
  5. A Killing View
  6. Bring It On
  7. I Wanna Know You (Just A Little Bit Better)
  8. Five Smell City
  9. Danish Rush
  10. All Over the News
  11. T.N.H.
  12. Goddess On the Loose
  13. Catch 22
  14. Son Of a Gypsy
  15. Ambassador Of Fantastic
  16. Ain’t Gonna Last
  17. Spider
  18. Turn the Page 02:56 video
  19. The Devil Stole the Beat from the Lord
  20. Pyrrhic Victory
  21. Eight Arms to Hold You
  22. Motherfucker
  23. These Boots are Made for Flying

Label: The Sign Records

Genre: Classic Rock

Release Date EU: February 24th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: