Review L.S. DUNES ‘Past Lives’

It could be that the band name L.S. Dunes is not familiar to everyone, since the ‘Past Lives’ record is the band’s debut album. Therefore first, who is this new outfit about? L.S. Dunes, these are greats from post-punk and hardcore. Guitarist Frank Iero (My Chemical Romance), guitarist Travis Stever (Coheed and Cambria), singer Anthony Green (Circa Survive), bassist Tim Payne (Thursday) and drummer Tucker Rule (Thursday/Yellowcard), these are the five names responsible for this group, which has recorded its first album and released it via Fantasy Records.

Altogether the record contains eleven songs, which are all somewhere between alternative rock and alternative punk. Album, as well as songs, thrive on their intensity and emotionality. Right from the massive opener ‘2022’, certainly not a love song to 2022, introverted moments alternate with emotional outbursts. Supported by Anthony Green’s shrill voice, a special emotional world unfolds from here.

Rockier and with a solid pinch of punk is provided by ‘Like Forever’ while ‘Blender’ combines quieter melodies with Green’s screams to a special area of tension.

Towards the end of the record things get wild again. ‘Permanent Rebellion’ is a rhythm-driven song where Green’s voice escalates again before ‘Sleep Cult’ is a rather calm and soothing ending.

L.S. Dunes is a sort of alternative rock supergroup and ‘Past Lives’ is a record that thrives on contrasts. Here the roots of the band members play an important role and it should be said that you have to like Green’s voice and shrill screams to enjoy this record.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. 2022
  2. Antibodies
  3. Grey Veins
  4. Like Forever
  5. Blender
  6. Past Lives
  7. It Takes Time
  8. Bombsquad
  9. Grifter
  10. Permanent Rebellion
  11. Sleep Cult

Label: Fantasy Records

Genre: Alternative Rock

Release Date EU: November 11th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: