Review THE DAMNED ‘A Night Of A Thousand Vampires’

The Damned belong to the greats of punk rock. Founded in 1976, the band was not only one of the first bands from the UK, but also paved the way for the entire genre.

With a total of eleven albums, The Damned has an extensive back catalogue which was the foundation for a unique concert. The band played a special show at the London Palladium Theater on October 28, 2019 with a career-spanning setlist. For this, The Damned transformed the venue into a kind of vampire crypt and delivered not only excellent music but a holistic spectacle.

For all those who couldn’t be present that night, the punk legend is releasing a recording of this concert under the name ‘A Night of a Thousand Vampires’. In cooperation with the Hammer House of Horror and the Circus of Horror, The Damned offers a unique show in which frontman David Vanian transforms from Dracula into Nosferatu. In addition, fire eaters, dancers and a gigantic light show transformed the stage into a living chamber of horrors to which the songs of the punk icons fit perfectly. Songs like ‘Neat Neat Neat’ and ‘New Rose’ from the ‘Damned Damned Damned’ debut let the hearts of the fans beat faster as well as ‘Standing on the Edge of Tomorrow’ from the so far latest studio work of the Brits.

The fact that songs from the ‘Machine Gun Etiquette’ release are at the core of the evening is not surprising, as it was tunes like ‘Love Song’ that catapulted the band into the UK charts.

‘A Night of a Thousand Vampires’ comes in different formats, whereby the CD version with the enclosed DVD is surely very exciting, as the DVD also brings the complete spectacle in moving pictures into your living room.

This live release is a visually stunning portrait of a special show of a band that has made punk history and since the song selection represents a good cross-section of their entire creative phase, both, fans and newcomers should get their money’s worth.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Beauty Of The Beast
  2. Wait For The Blackout
  3. Plan 9 Channel 7
  4. Standing On The Edge Of Tomorrow
  5. Grimly Fiendish
  6. Dr Jekyll And Mr Hyde
  7. Absinthe
  8. Under The Floor Again
  9. I Just Can’t Be Happy Today
  10. 13th Floor Vendetta
  11. Eloise
  12. People Are Strange
  13. Curtain Call
  14. Tightrope Walk
  15. The Dog
  16. Neat Neat Neat – Bela Lugosi’s Dead
  17. Black Is The Night

Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: October 28th, 2022




Photos: Dod Morrison

AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: