Review MIKE TRAMP ‘For Første Gang’

Mike Tramp rose to popularity as the voice of White Lion and songs like ‘When the Children Cry’ show the singer’s potential when it comes to softer and more soulful tracks. The rock’n’roll beast came to light with Freak Of Nature as Tramp turned to grittier sounds. One constant, however, has been Tramp’s expressive voice throughout. Also the new solo album of the Dane builds on this strength.

‘For Første gang’ is the title of Tramp’s latest solo work, which comes with ten tracks and a solid running time of 48 minutes. As the title indicates, all the songs are in Danish, which is uncharted territory for Tramp.

To make an album like this, you don’t need the big master plan. Sometimes it is the moment that opens the door to take such a step. In the case of ‘For Første gang’ it was Lars Daneskov, who knows Tramp very well because of his work on ‘Vagabond’, who sent the singer some lyrics to a song. This was the spark that started the work on ‘For Første gang’ (For the first time).

Although Tramp did not write the lyrics himself, the album is still a very personal one, mainly because of Tramp’s voice. The singer makes the song his own and delivers an authentic mood which gives each of the ten songs a lot of depth.

Looking at the music, fans of hard rock and metals will not get their money’s worth. This album is more in the realm of soulful rock; music where emotions are emphasized. Sometimes Tramp is going to work swinging, like in the rocking ‘Vejkort’. And it’s songs like ‘Min By’ that express the really big feelings.

‘For Første gang’ is the somewhat different Mike Tramp album. Rock music, sometimes gentle and sometimes louder is what comes to full bloom on this longplayer. Those who dig emotional music with depth should definitely get familiar with this album.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Det Jeg Var
  2. Vejkort
  3. For Første Gang For Altid
  4. Jeg Holder Fast
  5. Drømme
  6. Hjem
  7. Kys Jeg Ikke Gav
  8. Flamme Og Benzin
  9. Min By
  10. Album

Label: Target Records

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: September 2nd, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: