Review RESTLESS SPIRITS ‘Second to None’

Restless Spirits is a project driven by Tony Hernando of Lords Of Black. In collaboration with Frontiers Music, the guitarist has expressed his preference for melodic rock on a sound carrier. After the mother ship is more in the metallic realms on the way, Hernando focuses with Restless Spirits on catchy songs that can be placed between rock and AOR.

Since such an album also needs a good singer, the axemaster has taken even four singers on board. The job at the microphone is shared by Kent Hilli, Chez Kane, Renan Zonta and none other than Johnny Gioeli.

The first song is ‘I Need a Lil’ White Lie’ with Kent Hilli. The track is a lively start to the album before three songs with rock voice Chez Kane follow. All of these songs are good ones with melodies that go straight to your ears and heart. Sometimes, like on ‘Until the End of Time’ things get a little cliché though.

Everyone involved gives their best on ‘Second to None’, but the three tracks with Gioeli stand out. ‘Nothin’ Dirty Here’ comes off the best here. Despite sweet melodies, the song has enough dirt under its fingernails to not come across as too polished. The soulful side is brought to the fore by ‘Always a Prentender’. Even if the song reminds a little bit of Axel Rudi Pell it can be mentioned that the heart of the hard rockers is touched effectively.

Kent Hilli made the beginning and he also ends the album with ‘Dirty Money’. Here, too, the power of rock’n’roll is linked with catchy melodies with great effect. This is all not new, however ‘Second to None’ contains attractive songs that are a pleasure to listen to. If you want to have a good time, you can relax and put ‘Second to None’ on the record player.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Need A Lil’ White Lie ft. Kent Hilli
  2. Hey You ft. Chez Kane
  3. Dreams Of The Wild ft. Chez Kane
  4. Until The End Of Time ft. Chez Kane
  5. A Dream To Be Lost In Time ft. Renan Zonta
  6. And Yet It Breaks ft. Renan Zonta
  7. Too Many ft. Johnny Gioeli
  8. Nothin’ Dirty Here ft. Johnny Gioeli
  9. Always A Pretender ft. Johnny Gioeli
  10. No Time Wasters ft. Renan Zonta
  11. Dirty Money ft. Kent Hilli

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: August 12th, 2022


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: