Review TY TABOR ‘Shades’

Kings X frontman Ty Tabor released his next solo album these days. ‘Shades’ is the title of this new record, an album that comes with ten songs and three bonus tracks in the digital and CD format.

Four years after ‘Alien Beans’ has been released, the new longplayer shows again why Tabor belongs to the group of well-known and influential musicians. His musical experience and savvy allow him to compose music that connects with fans rather easily.

The songs on ‘Shades’ are well-done rock songs, technically matured and equipped with melodies that make it easy to dive into the music on ‘Shades’. The album contains the entire spectra of rock music. ‘Insane’, the second single release from the album, is a highlight. The song is one of the really rocking tunes on the album and comes with a soulful solo part too. ‘Insane’ is a straight-ahead rocker and the track fits perfectly into a time when a lot of things feel like insanity taking over by pandemic and war.

The rock’n’roll beast gets also unleashed with ‘Come Home’, the powerful opener of the album. ‘Sister Genocide’ was the first single release and spreads a dark vibe though. I would go that far saying that this mid-tempo song includes a certain grunge-vibe with a melancholy that swings with each note.

The calmer moments found a spot on the tracklist of the album too. In this context ‘Doesn’t Linger’ is an interesting song. It is a calm and emotional song with some thundering breaks that are woven into the singing guitar lines.

‘Shades’ is the album, Ty Tabor wanted it to be. It is a solidly crafted rock record by one of the influential guitarists in rock and metal.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Come Home
  2. Shallow
  3. Your Fantasy
  4. What You’re Thinking
  5. Sister Genocide
  6. Best Day in A While
  7. Insane
  8. One Drop of Water
  9. Doesn’t Linger
  10. Leaves Falling Down
  11. Ashes (bonus track; CD and digital download only]
  12. Political Nonsense (bonus track; CD and digital download only)
  13. Ashes (Acoustic) (bonus track; CD and digital download only)

Label: Rat Pak Records

Genre: Rock

Release Date: March 4th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: