Review ASHES OF ARES ‘Emperors and Fools’

Ashes Of Ares stands for well-made power metal and what certainly helped the awareness level of the band is the fact that ex-Iced Earth frontman Matt Barlow is the voice of Ashes Of Ares. But Barlow is not the only familiar name. Drummer Van Williams was already giving the beat in Nevermore and if we then mention Freddie Vidales, we have the core of the band in their early days. In the meantime, Williams has left the band, which does not affect the force of the new disc.

The band’s self-titled debut was released in 2013 and after a label switch to ROAR! the band released their sophomore album. After four years, the all-important third album is now in the starting box, waiting to be unleashed on the metal world.

In the tradition of the first two albums Ashes Of Ares deals on ‘Emperors and Fools’ again with energetic power metal that on the one hand always comes out of the speakers with the necessary heaviness. On the other hand, melodies are an integral part, which is significantly reflected in the vocal lines.

After the listener has passed with ‘ A City of Decay ‘ the intro, the band starts enthusiastically with ‘ I Am the Night ‘. Fast and powerful, that’s what makes the opener a good start. No doubt, Ashes Of Ares still know how to write and produce good metal songs.

Calmer tones can be found in ‘Primed’ and the title track, although none of the mentioned songs is a pure ballad. The duo increases heaviness and makes the songs become small epic anthems.

However, if you’re more into merciless riff attacks, headbangers like ‘By My Blade’ will do the trick. In addition, the pulsating ‘The Iron Throne’ is recommended as a listening recommendation.

‘Emperors and Fools’ is a very well-done metal album on which Barlow and Vidales once again prove that they know how metal works. Playfulness and aggressiveness, both can be found on this album and considering that Iced Earth will probably “pause” for the unforeseeable future, this is a very good album.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. A City in Decay (Intro)
  2. A Am the Night
  3. Our Last Sunrise
  4. Primed
  5. Where God Fears to Go
  6. Emperors and Fools
  7. B yMy Blade
  8. What Tomorrow Will Bring
  9. The Iron Throne
  10. Gone
  11. Throne of Iniquity
  12. Monster’s Lament

Label: ROAR!

Genre: Power Metal

Release Date EU: January 21st, 2022



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: