Review ARMORED SAINT ‘Symbol of Salvation Live’

Many things happened in 1991 and one important moment for metal fans was the release of Armored Saint’s ‘Symbol of Salvation’. After one EP and three genre-defining longplayers, ‘Symbol of Salvation’ was the first studio album the band released via Metal Blade, the start of long-lasting collaboration. The deal with Metal Blade Records ended a three-year period of the band being without a label. At the same time, Armored Saint guitarist Dave Prichard lost his battle against cancer in 1990, a shocking moment for band and fans. In a time with the question ‘quo vadis Armored Saint?’, the band decided to move on, powerful and with full force. ‘Now more than ever’ describes this period in a way.

Three decades later, the world has slowed down dramatically due to a pandemic, but Armored Saint didn’t let the anniversary of the great fourth album just pass by. The good thing is, that the quintet toured with their cornerstone album already in 2018 and the guys played the entire album at New York‘s Gramercy Theatre . At the time, the band was in between two studio records and it was a pragmatic idea to perform the this icon in its entirety. The thought turned into reality and became even more beneficial in 2021, since it allows Armored Saint to celebrate this milestone album in a suitable fashion.

Although the setlist in New York in 2018 was a bit longer, this release focusses on the thirteen songs from the album, that are performed in chronological order, from ‚Reign of Fear‘ to ‚Spineless‘. In front of an enthusiastic crowd, the quintet cruises through a setlist of classics like ‚Last Train Home‘.

‚Symbol of Salvation Live‘ is a live album (comes also as DVD) that is more than just a live recording. It showcases one of the most impactful band of US metal at work and listening to these songs is a treat, even after three decades.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Reign of Fire (Live)
  2. Dropping Like Flies (Live)
  3. Last Train Home (Live)
  4. Tribal Dance (Live)
  5. The Truth Always Hurts (Live)
  6. Half Drawn Bridge (Live)
  7. Another Day (Live)
  8. Symbol of Salvation (Live)
  9. Hanging Judge (Live)
  10. Warzone (Live)
  11. Burning Question (Live)
  12. Tainted Past (Live)
  13. Spineless (Live)

Label: Metal Blade Records

Genre: US Metal

Release Date EU: October 22nd, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: