Review ACT OF DENIAL ‚Negative‘

Usually the word ‚super group‘ is used in a quite inflationary way. The collaboration of a few musicians, known from another band, is not immediately a super group. Act Of Denial though comes closer to the meaning of the term.

Act Of Denial is the brainchild of Voi Cox and Luger. The two six string acrobats founded this powerhouse in 2020 and they could convince some renowned musicians to join them on their musical endeavor. No less the Soilwork frontman Björn „Speed“ Strid took over the vocal duties, who‘s making perfect use of his entire vocal range. The  raspy death metal shouting is present as well as he uses his clean voice, known from The Night Flight Orchestra. Songs like the stunning ‚Down That Line‘ are the prefect example for the vocal range the Swedish singer can rely on.

Having said this already clarifies what kind of musical adventure one can witness after having pressed the ‚Start‘-button. Melodic death metal is the direction and the band doesn‘t shy away from also using keyboards in a smart way. The keyboards help Act Of Denial to amplify the melodic aspect of their music as well as it adds density to songs like the smashing ‚Slave‘. 

The man behind the keys is John Lönnmyr (The Night Flight Orchestra) while Steve Di Giorgio (Death, Testament) adds the groove with his bass. Krimh is handling the drums and that‘s not all. Bobby Koelble (Death), Peter Wichers (ex Soilwork), Matias “IA” Eklundh (Freak Kitchen) and great guitar player Ron Thal Bumblefoot (Guns N’ Roses, Son of Apollo), they all contributed with their own unique guitar solo to the album, which by the way is named ‚Negative‘.

Another tune worth to be mentioned is ‚In the Depths of Destruction‘. Starting acoustic, the song evolves to a moderate paced and hard-hitting highlight that grooves very well. Keyboards are embedded too, embracing the harsh riffs here and there with melody and organic warmth. It’s a great melodic death metal anthem that wows listeners.

‚Negative‘ is the title track and there is no more ‚negative‘ than the song title. The tune is a savage one with a pace that is a bit higher than the average on this really well done longplayer. After a calmer beginning‚ ‘Lost Circle‘ transforms into a powerful metal hymn and ‚Reflection Walls‘ is even better. A moderate pace and great catchiness shows a band at work that knows its craft. 

‚Clutching at Rails of Light‘ marks the ending of this stellar album. Act Of Denial release a debut that features ten stellar songs. The first single releases have been an appetizer and the main course is even better. To date, this album belongs to the strongest and most impressive releases in 2021 and I guess we will find ‚Negative‘ in quite some 2021 year polls. ‚Negative‘ is the new positive with six masters of their craft following their musical heart and soul.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Puzzle Heart
  2. Controlled
  3. Down That Line
  4. Negative
  5. Reflection Wall
  6. In the Depths of Destruction
  7. Lost Circle
  8. Your Dark Desires
  9. Slave
  10. Clutching at Rails of Light

Label: Crusader Records

Genre: Melodic Death Metal

Release Date EU: August 13th, 2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: