Review LIGHT THE TORCH ‘You Will be the Death of Me’

Light The Torch is the continuation of Devil You Know. Under the banner of Devil You Know, two longplayers have been released before the band announced a change of names in 2017. Devil You Know became Light The Torch and with ‘Revival’ the first album under the new moniker has been unleashed in 2018.

The debut was highly appreciated, also manifested with chart entries in various countries. It took a while for the guys to unleash the next longplayer, which is now ready and waiting in the starting block to be released on Friday this week. ‘You Will be the Death of Me’ is the title of this twelve songs comprising record and the first song of the new album has been revealed already in 2019 when ‘Death of Me’ saw the light of day.

Light The Torch release an album that is mighty and stunning. At the same time ‘You Will be the Death of Me’ is darker than the earlier release. This record is an emotional 43-minute journey with melancholia being a kind of common denominator throughout and mainly based on the fact of Howard Jones who became more personal in his writing.

It all starts with ‘More Than Dreaming’ which is energetic opener that brings together heavy riffing and great hooks. The journey continues with ‘Let Me Fall Apart’, an intense song, that unfolds its dark beauty right away. ‘Living With a Ghost’ is one of the heaviest songs on the album, reflecting the metalcore roots of Light The Torch, which creates a great contrast with ‘Become the Martyr’. The latter is more created with an atmospheric approach that includes well-crafted melodies too.

The album finishes off with a cover version. ‘Sign Your Name’ comes from the late 80s and is a top 10 hit from Sananda Maitreya, also known as Terence Trent D’Arby. Light The Torch doesn’t move away too far from the original version but added a darker touch to the track. This interpretation fits well in the context of the album. At the same time the songs have by nature the biggest potential to reach a target group that so far hasn’t had Light The Torch on their musical radar. A bit more edges would have been nice though.

‘You Will be the Death of Me’ is a powerful album. Modern metal is what fans get with these songs, music that sometimes unveil the metalcore roots too. Equipped with a strong and professional sound, ‘You Will be the Death of Me’ reflects music that arouse and transports emotions with the little side-note that sometimes it feels like the band not wanting to stress the frames of modern metal too much.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. More Than Dreaming
  2. Let Me Fall Apart
  3. End Of The World
  4. Wilting In The Light
  5. Death Of Me
  6. Living With A Ghost
  7. Become The Martyr
  8. Something Deep Inside
  9. I Hate Myself
  10. Denying The Sin
  11. Come Back To The Quicksand
  12. Sign Your Name

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: June 25th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: