CD review SAXON ‘Inspirations’

That Saxon can not only write brilliant heavy metal anthems, but also do good cover versions is known since 1988. The ‘Destiny’ album opens with ‘Ride Like the Wind’, a Christopher Cross classic that Saxon sets perfectly into scene.

Now, it seems like Biff Byford and bandmates have been going through their own record collections in these lockdown-dominated Corona days and have been so inspired that the guys have recorded a whole album with cover songs called ‘Inspirations’.

The spectrum of bands that made and still make an impression on Saxon is large. And the question if Beatles fan or Rolling Stones fan doesn’t come up, because Saxon have with ‘Paint in Black’ a Stones classic in pole position, while ‘Paperback Writer’ will please Beatles fans.

Furthermore, all kind of classics and genre-defining smashers are present throughout. AC/DC (‘Problem Child’) is featured with a less known song while Led Zeppelin’s ‘Immigrant Song’ is a real rock’n’roll classic everybody knows pretty well. ‘The Rocker’ by Thin Lizzy is Saxon-alized as well as Black Sabbath’s ‘Evil Woman’, the latter being interesting as the song shows how similar Ozzy’s and Biff’s voices can be.

‘Inspirations’ is a great piece of work that brings fun and good music into the dark times of sitting at home. This album is entertaining and offers good vibes. Thumbs up.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Paint It Black
  2. Immigrant Song
  3. Paperback Writer
  4. Evil Woman
  5. Stone Free
  6. Bomber
  7. Speed King
  8. The Rocker
  9. Hold The Line
  10. Problem Child
  11. See My Friends

Label: Silver Lining Music

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: March 19th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: