CD review EVERGREY ‘Escape of the Phoenix’

Next to Stockholm, Gothenburg is certainly the epicenter when it comes to metal from Sweden. One of the bands based in Gothenburg is Evergrey. In contrast to the melodic death metal wave that rolled over the city in the 90s, Evergrey have dedicated themselves to the more complex worlds of metal right from the start.

Evergrey is the brainchild of frontman Tom S. Englund, who still is the leading man when it comes to Evergrey. With a stable line-up since 2014, the exceptional singer goes this time once again on a emotional journey through the worlds of melodic progressive metal. The beauty of Evergrey is that the band manages to combine melodies with complex structures and lyrical depth, all wrapped into a gloomy atmosphere. The necessary intensity comes from brilliant guitar riffs and it is songs like ‘Where August Mourn’ and ‘A Dandelion Cipher’ that skillfully unite all of the mentioned. Despite all the booming heaviness, it should not be forgotten that Evergey is also very familiar with calmer sounds, which is clearly manifested by tunes like ‘Stories’.

From time to time Evergrey also invite artists for a guest appearance. In this case it is Dream Theater frontman James LaBrie, who vocally supports ‘The Beholder’. ‘The Beholder’ is a slow and melancholic song with two singers who complement each other very well vocally.

With ‘Eternal Nocturnal’ Evergrey demonstrate once again all the horse power that their music entails before the title track with its roaring guitars raises the level of heaviness even more.

Evergrey once again prove with ‘Escape of the Phoenix’ that melodies, heaviness and complexity can be combined to music that’s very thrilling. This album is pure joy and doesn’t disappoint at any second.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Forever Outside
  2. Where August Mourn
  3. Stories
  4. A Dandelion Cipher
  5. The Beholder (feat. James LaBrie)
  6. In the Absence of Sun
  7. Eternal Nocturnal
  8. Escape of the Phoenix
  9. You From You
  10. Leaden Saints
  11. Run
  12. The Darkness in You
  13. The Darkness in You (Instrumental)

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Progressive Power Metal

Release Date EU: February 26th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: