CD review GAMA BOMB ‘Sea Savage’

Ireland’s thrash metal specialists Gama Bomb can proudly look back on six successful albums and the seventh longplayer is lurking in waiting position.

‘Sea Savage’ is the title of the new album, which is also the first release for Prosthetic Records. Gama Bomb stand for well done crossover thrash metal which manifests itself again in each of the 12 new songs. With ‘Sea Savage’ the four Irishmen enter a nautical environment, nautical metal so to speak.

Without long hesitation the band let their sea monster off the leash right away. ‘Judo Killer’ is the name of the opener and gives you an idea what the next 39 minutes will offer.

Inspired by East Coast metal a la Overkill and Anthrax, the guys get off to a good start. The title track follows the opener immediately and comes with an enormous groove. Vocally the whole singing varies between Joe Belladonna and Blitz Ellsworth and especially the falsetto screams of Philly Byrne are worth mentioning also.

And the sea monster continues to show no mercy for any losses. ‘Iron Blood’ with its powerful riff and the almost epic four minutes long ‘Sheer Khan’ stand for perfectly done thrash metal that has its roots in the late 80s but still comes across as dynamic and modern.

All in all Gama Bomb can be complimented on their new album. This record is fun and the only excuse for not starting with some headbanging is a stiff neck.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Judo Killer
  2. Sea Savage
  3. Miami Supercops
  4. She;s Not My Mother, Todd
  5. Iron Blood
  6. Lords of the Hellfire Club
  7. Sheer Khan
  8. Rusty Jaw
  9. Monsterizer
  10. Ready, Steady, Goat!
  11. Elecric Pentacle
  12. Gone Haywire

Label: Prosthetic Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: December 4th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: