LP review MR. BUNGLE ‘The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo’

A bit out of left-field comes the new album from Mr.Bungle. Now, ‘New album’ actually doesn’t exactly describe this longplayer since it’s a re-recording of the band’s first demo that was released in 1985.

Re-recordings can be just that, a new recording session of old material or it can result in a massive metal album that surprises young and old. For ‘The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo’, Mr. Bungle decided to go for the second approach. When it comes to the tracklist, smaller adjustments have been made. ‘Eracist’, Methematics’ and ‘Loss For Words’ (C.O.C. cover) have been added while ‘Evil Satan’ is missed on this release.

The core of Mr. Bungle (Mike Patton, Trey Spruance, Trevor Dunn) teamed-up with drum legend Dave Lombardo and Anthrax guitarist Scott Ian to record with ‘The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo’ an album that unleashes the full power and joy of thrash metal. This longplayer is a fusion of East Coast- and Bay Area thrash metal, all spiced up with the unpredictable craziness that’s weaved into every song.

Already the title of the album, ‘The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo’, states that we don’t deal with the usual and with standards. Driven by the massive drumbeat of Dave Lombardo and the grooving bass of Trevor Dunn, songs like ‘Raping Your Mind’ and ‘Erasist’ are excellent examples for thrash metal in 2020s.

‘Grizzly Adams’ is the calm intro that leads-off the album before hell breaks loose with ‘Anarchy Up Your Anus’. The heavy pounding song, with narrative element by Rhea Perlman, morphs into a relentless and fast-paced thrash metal hymn. This songs shows why Dave Lombardo is a drum legend. ‘Raping Your Mind’ keeps the high pace and is a next firing metal outburst.

Songs like ‘Bungle Grind’ and ‘Spreading the Thighs of Death’ are other examples for thrash metal that reminds of the late 80s without sounding old-fashioned. It’s amazing to listen to these anthems, songs that are equipped with freight-train power.

‘The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo’ is massive. Passionate metal legends deliver an album that combines the Big 4 in one relaese. In a time when Slayer enjoys their retirement and Metallica becoming their own legend, it’s records like ‘The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo’ that manifest in perfection why thrash metal became popular and still is. Raw power and pure energy are the infectious elements this release has embedded, waiting to be unlocked by listeners. There is now way to stand/sit still while these five guys ignite a raging thrash metal inferno. Wow.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Grizzly Adams
  2. Anarchy Up Your Anus
  3. Raping Your Mind
  4. Hypocrites : Habla Español O Muere
  5. Bungle Grind
  6. Methematics
  7. Eracist
  8. Spreading the Thighs of Death
  9. Loss for Words
  10. Glutton for Punishment
  11. Sudden Death

Label: Ipecac Recordings

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: October 30st, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Photo shows just one out of two red vinyls

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: