CD review POWERWOLF ‘Best of the Blessed’

One of the bands that was growing the fastest over the last years is certainly Powerwolf from Saarbrücken, Germany. Referred to as being the high priests of Heavy Metal, the band can show impressive achievements, which were maybe a dream scenario back in 2005, when the guys unveiled their debut album. But sometimes dreams become reality and Powerwolf lives this dream with having released eight albums since then.

And not only that the count of new record grew, also the fan base constantly enlarged and the venues for their shows became bigger with almost every tour. Now, after 15 year, it’s time to stand still for a second and enjoy what has been achieved so far. And what would be better, being a band, to celebrate the anniversary with an album.

Since Powerwolf doesn’t know a ‘think small’ approach they also go big with ‘Best of the Blessed’. Instead of just push a ‘Best of …’ album onto the market, the band recorded new 2020 versions of songs like ‘We Drink Your Blood’, ‘Werewolves of Armania’ and quite some more. All of these newly recorded classics, together with other highlights such as ‘Amen & Attack’, shape the tracklist for the first CD of this two CD’s including package.

The second leg of this release features 13 live songs from the ‘Wolfsnächte Tour’ in 2018 with even four additional ones being part of the ear-book and LP Box. All this together is certainly a package that is very interesting for collectors but it also opens the treasure box of Powerwolf for newcomers.


CD 1 – Best Of The Blessed:

  1. We Drink Your Blood (New Version 2020)
  2. Army of the Night
  3. Demons Are a Girl‘s Best Friend
  4. Werewolves of Armenia (New Version 2020)
  5. Saturday Satan (New Version 2020)
  6. Amen & Attack
  7. Where The Wild Wolves Have Gone
  8. Resurrection by Erection (New Version 2020)
  9. Sanctified with Dynamite (New Version 2020)
  10. Kreuzfeuer
  11. Armata Strigoi
  12. Kiss of the Cobra King (New Version 2019)
  13. Killers with the Cross
  14. Sacred & Wild
  15. In Blood We Trust (New Version 2020)
  16. Let There Be Night

CD 2 – The Live Sacrament (Wolfsnächte 2018):

  1. Fire & Forgive
  2. Incense & Iron
  3. Amen & Attack
  4. Demons Are a Girls Best Friend
  5. Killers With The Cross6. Armata Strigoi
  6. Blessed & Possessed
  7. Where The Wild Wolves Have Gone
  8. Resurrection by Erection
  9. Stossgebet
  10. All We Need is Blood
  11. We Drink Your Blood
  12. Werewolves of Armenia
  13. Lupus die

Earbook & LP Box ( The Live Bonus Sacrament ):

  1. Sanctified with Dynamite
  2. Army Of The Night
  3. Coleus Sanctus
  4. Let There Be Night

Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Melodic Power Metal

Release Date EU: July 3rd, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: