CD review WEDNESDAY 13 ‘Necrophaze’

(7/10) Right in time for the beginning of the darker seasons Wednesday 13 unveils his next longplayer. ‘Necrophaze’ is the bringer of a next chapter of horror and creepy stories. Two years after ‘Condolences’ found its way out of some moisty soil, twelve new songs are supposed to provide some extra goose bumps for fans of Horror Rock.

‘Necrophaze’ is a good album, but it also doesn’t exceed expectation. Songs such as the grooving ‘Zodiac’ and ‘Bury the Hatchet’ are dirty hard rockers with good riffs, cool hooks and a snappy groove as key ingredients. These songs are made for your upcoming Halloween-party, no doubt. 

But there’s also more average stuff that sneaked up on the tracklist. ‘Decompose’ is such a song, being not bad but also not ‘wow’ and ‘Tie Me a Nose’ can’t compete with some other songs on the album either. Last but least there’s with ‘Animal (Fuck Like a Beast)’ a W.A.S.P. cover on the album. Wednesday 13’s version doesn’t turn out that well and is miles away from Blackie Lawless’ original nasty Metal anthem.

To sum up: ‘Necrophaze’ contains good music, but also not more. There are some real highlights on the tracklist as well as standard Hard Rock songs that are in need of the horror image to shine at least a bit. Innovation and surprises is what you’re looking for in vain. Good stuff with the final thrill that’s missing.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Necrophaze feat. Alice Cooper 
  2. Bring Your Own Blood
  4. Monster feat. Cristina Scabbia 
  5. Decompose
  6. Be Warned feat. Jeff Clayton 
  7. The Hearse
  8. Tie Me A Noose
  9. Life Will Kill Us All
  10. Bury The Hatchet
  11. Necrophaze Main Theme (End-Credits)
  12. Animal (Fuck Like A Beast) feat. Alexi Laiho

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Horror Rock

Release Date EU: September 27th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑