CD review EXHUMED ‘Horror’

(9/10) Gore Metal pioneers Exhumed are back with a new album, entitled ‘Horror’. Two hears after ‘Death Revenge’ represented the bands first concept album it’s the blood-trenched new album that showcases a band that’s willing to take Gore Metal to a next level.

The guys from California started in 1990 in San Jose and they are the masters of split-releases and demos, at least when it comes to the amount of those. In nearly 30 years it’s solely eight full-length albums being on their track-record but each of them is a genre defining riff massacre – intense and bloody.

There aren’t that many bands that record 15 songs, leading to a running time of less than 30 minutes. Exhumed is one of them. Words like ‘lengthy’ and ‘epos’ doesn’t belong to the vocabulary of Matt Harvey and band. Exhumed songs don’t even cross a three minutes line and it’s the 6 seconds long ‘Utter Mutilation of Your Corpse’ being one of the shortest tracks in Metal history. Probably saying the title takes longer than the entire song.

‘Horror’ is massive. Each of the songs is fueled by meat cleaver riffs, furious leads and vocals that are fascinating and evil, all in one. Growling and hoarse shouts are means to tell bloody short stories, compressed into a brutal musical frame that doesn’t allow much more than 2 minutes of time each. ‘Horror’ doesn’t give you any moment of relief nor it gives you a moment of peace. California’s riff grinders number one unveil a rogue and venomous masterpiece being their strongest release to date.

Exhumed newest strike is a face-smashing one. This album doesn’t contain any compromise nor it created for a mainstream audience. ‘Horror’ is Gore Metal in perfection. Be ready for some ‘Horror’.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Unsound
  2. Ravenous Cadavers
  3. Scream Out in Fright
  4. The Red Death
  5. Utter Mutilation of Your Corpse
  6. Slaughter Maniac
  7. Ripping Death
  8. Clawing
  9. Naked, Screaming and Covered in Blood
  10. Playing With Fear
  11. Dead Meat
  12. Rabid
  13. In the Mouth of Hell
  14. Shattered Sanity
  15. Re-Animated

Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Gore Metal

Release Date EU: October 4th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: