CD review KENNY WAYNE SHEPHERD ‘The Traveler’

(9/10) Kenny Wayne Shepherd began his musical journey at the age of seven and is since then a ‘traveler’ in Blues and Rock. And not only that Shepherd is a traveler in music, he was and is on the road quite often too, delighting fans with excellent performed Blues Rock.

With having this in mind it doesn’t surprise that the gifted guitarist entitled his newest album ‘The Traveler’. The new record is a continuation of the acclaimed ‘Lay it on Down’, which hit the shelfs in 2017. Although Shepherd picks up the vibe of the predecessor it’s the new release having rougher edges and a very robust Rock’n’Roll power compared to the 2017 disc.

It’s the starting triple that provides an excellent overview on what to expect from this release. There is the heavily grooving opener ‘Woman Like You’ that sticks to you mind right away. ‘Long Time Running’ is next on the batting order and delivers the next hit. The song’s powering from start to finish and it’s the following ‘I Want You’ that brings a lot of Blues to the scene. Kept in slower pace the tune is treat for your ears and it’s the brass section that adds extra spiciness to this masterpiece.

‘Tailwind’ instead is a calmer song, built on Shepherd’s acoustic guitar and it’s ‘Gravity’, adding another soulful moment to the mix. Emotions are an important element on this album and it goes beyond ‘Gravity’. The six-string guitarist transports a lot of feel with each of the ten songs, tunes that include the two cover versions also.

Shepherd recorded his interpretation of ‘Mr. Soul’, originally by Buffalo Springsteen which is a great variation of the classic and the same goes for the closer. Joe Walsh’s ‘Turn to Stone’ finishes off the longplayer and it’s truely a grande finale.

Kenny Wayne Shepherd adds with ‘The Traveler’ another musical pearl to his constantly growing discography. Friends of Blues and fans of Rock shouldn’t miss this album. It stets the 2019 standards for this genre.



  1. Woman Like You 
  2. Long Time Running 
  3. I Want You 
  4. Tailwind 
  5. Gravity 
  6. We All Alright 
  7. Take It On Home 
  8. Mr. Soul 
  9. Better With Time 
  10. Turn To Stone

Label: Provoque/Mascot Label Group

Genre: Blues

Release Date EU: May 31st, 2019




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: