CD review ANTI-FLAG ‘American Reckoning’

(*/10) Pittsburgh-based punk rockers of Anti-Flag took the American series of two albums and rearranged some of the songs for ‘American Reckoning’. The quartet took songs of the 2015 release ‘American Spring’ and the 2017 album ‘American Fall’, rearranged them as acoustic tunes and put them on this compilation.

Although the songs are known from the mentioned albums it’s still a cool thing to listen to these stripped down versions. Ant-Flag is a band that comes with a message. The fourpiece addresses human rights, imperialism and social problems in their songs. Lyrics are more than mere words that go together with music. Anti-Flag has something to say and their music is the transporter for their standpoint and view on things. The reason I’m mentioning this is, that the acoustic versions of their songs bring the lyrics far more to the forefront.

Next to seven songs from the previous two albums three cover versions made it on the tracklist too. John Lennon’s ‘Gimme Some Truth’ is the first one, followed by Buffalo Springfield’s ‘For What it’s Worth’ and ‘Surrender’, originally from Cheap Trick. The cover songs are recorded with more firepower and aren’t solely acoustic. Anti-Flag plugs in their instruments for these three songs, which is also a nice twist when it comes to the energy level.

‘American Reckoning’ is a compilation that focused on the most recent two studio albums in a new way. It feels like to albums sums-up the American series in a good fashion.





  1. The Debate Is Over (If You Want It)
  2. Trouble Follows Me
  3. American Attraction
  4. When the Wall Falls
  5. Racists
  6. Set Yourself on Fire
  7. Brandenburg Gate
  8. Gimme Some Truth (John Lennon cover)
  9. For What It’s Worth (Buffalo Springfield cover)
  10. Surrender (Cheap Trick cover)


Label: Spinefarm Records

Genre: Punk Rock

Release Date EU: September 28th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑