CD review BEHEMOTH ‘I Loved You at Your Darkest’

(8/10) Demonic black metal band Behemoth is back with a monstrous new album entitled ‘I Loved You at Your Darkest’. The title might sound unusual for a black metal band but digging into detail unveils the fact that the title is a quote, taken from the bible. The sentence acted as a base for the new longplayer and what could be more blasphemous than such a statement on the front cover of such a metal album.

Nergal, together with his longtime companions Inferno and Orion, revealed an album that belongs to the best ones the band released so far. Over a distance of twelve songs (or 46 minutes running time), the trio lifts the bar when it comes to black metal.

Some first positive signals have been spread beginning of August when ‘God=Dog’ was posted on YouTube. Besides the fact that the song was done in a ‘clean version’ the music showed rageous band with a lot of riff power. What makes the evil parts even eviller is the choir of children’s voice that acts as a dramaturgic extra, not only for this song.

Behemoth’s newest power strike uses this element throughout. The trio pushes the pedal to the metal for some of the tracks but it the well-done mix of harsh, brutal, fragile and calm that creates diabolic arcs of suspense from beginning to end. One of the songs that reflects the mentioned really well ‘Havohej Pantocrator’. It’s a fiendish masterpiece that begins calmly before unfolding the spirit of evil.

What more? The album features raging guitar solos, like in ‘Sabbath Mater’. Furthermore, the album comprises of a solid rock’n’roll vibe. Not that black metal stepped backward. The rock influences are more an addition than a dominating factor. Songs like ‘Rom 5:8’ are based on a ‘rock-foundation’, adding extra gloominess to the album.

‘I Loved You at Your Darkest’ is Behemoth’s most mature album to date. It showcases a band that reinvents itself without compromising on trademarks and roots. This album is a blasphemous start into a dark and cold winter period.





  1. Solve
  2. Wolves Ov Siberia
  3. God = Dog
  4. Ecclesia Diabolica Catholica
  5. Bartzabel
  6. If Crucifixion Was Not Enough
  7. Angelvs XIII
  8. Sabbath Mater
  9. Havohej Pantocrator
  10. ROM 5:8
  11. We Are The Next 1000 years
  12. Coagvla


Label: Nuclear Blast Records

Genre: Black Metal

Release Date EU: October 5th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑