CD review KADAVAR ‘Live in Copenhagen’

(8/10) Berlin-based Kadavar is a band that really gained momentum over the last years. Their latest studio album, Rough Times’, belongs to the best records the classic rock genre recently added to the offer and after having done some excellent studio albums the band decided to go for a second live record.

Kadavar, that’s Christoph Lindemann, Christoph Bartelt and Simon Bouteloup and ‘Live in Copenhagen’ is the capturing of a show the trio performed at Pumpehuset on November 9th, 2017. Kadavar has a  good link with the Danish capitol ever since they played a gig at Heavy Days in Doomtown in 2013 and therefore it wasn’t a big surprise that they also record a show in Denmark for this live release. 

‘Live in Copenhagen’ showcases a passionate and down-to-earth band that enjoys playing live. The focus of the set is on the latest album ‘Rough Times’, but at the end of the day it’s a well-chosen representation of all four studio albums. What’s missing though is the encore of the Copenhagen show which contained ‘All Our Thoughts’, ‘Come Back Life’ and The Damned cover of ‘New Rose’.

However, the 12 songs comprising tracklist provides a lot of excellent hard rocking music, performed in front of an enthusiastic crowd. A highlight, for sure, is the last tune on the album, which is a 12 minutes version of ‘Purple Saga’. The song was originally released on the ‘Kadavar’ album, which was the band’s debut in 2012. Extending the song by four minutes gives a lot of latitude for improvisation, leading to an even bigger psychedelic touch. It’s the grand finale on this album and it was the mind-blowing end of the regular set.

Often live albums are a filler for bridging the time until a new studio album can be released. This isn’t the case when it comes to Kadavar’s new live album. ‘Live in Copenhagen’ is an excellent documentation of the current status of the band that will be released as a live album and is also part of a tour edition of ‘Rough Times’, a package that contains both discs.





1. Skeleton Blues
2. Doomsday Machine
3. Pale Blue Eyes
4. Into The Wormhole
5. The Old Man
6. Die Baby Die
7. Black Sun
8. Living In Your Head
9. Into The Night
10. Forgotten Past
11. Tribulation Nation
12. Purple Sage


Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Classic Rock

Release Date EU: October 12th, 2018

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: