CD review MAXXWELL ‘Metalized’

(7/10) ‘Metalized’ is the title of Maxxwell’s newest strike and I must say that the name fits very well. Nearly four years after ‘Tabula Rasa’ has been released the band continues their journey towards harder sounds.

Starting as a more hardrock-oriented band, the guys already made a first move towards metal with ‘Tabula Rasa’. The new album builds on the achievements of the predecessor. According to the label info sheet the new sound reflects inspiration by bands like Five Finger Death Punch, In Flames and Accept.

In general the comparison gives a good idea of what to expect from ‘Metalized’. However, I can also see a link to bands like Altar Bridge, Maxxwell might play a bit harder.

The album kicks-off with ‘Hurricane’, a song that’s for sure more than solely a breeze. Hard hitting riffpower is the main ingredient of the opener and it’s ‘Back Again’ that picks up the vibe and moves it further. A bit slower than ‘Hurricane’ the song comes with down-tuned guitars and a strong beat. The catchier chorus partly breaks the pattern which adds extra excitement.

Melody and the hardrock background shimmers through with ‘She’s Mine’ before ‘Scars’ unveils the soulful side of the Swiss-based band. The earlier mentioned Accept could have delivered the blueprint for ‘Monsterball’s riffpower. The track is a pounding metal anthem that pleases fans of modern- and more oldschool sounds.

To conclude: Maxxwell is a band in a band in transition. The guys moved their sound from ‘hard’ to ‘heavy’ and it feels like ‘Metalized’ being the final leg of this transition period. Here and there some references to the early days are present, which isn’t surprising. The result, captured on this album, is a good one that might open some doors for Maxxwell.





  1. Hurricane
  2. Back Again
  3. P.U.T.V.
  4. She’s Mine
  5. Scars
  6. Matelized
  7. Monsterball
  8. Burn
  9. Done With You
  10. Give it All
  11. The Temple
  12. Raise Your Fist
  13. Independent (bonus track)


Label: igroove

Gerne: Alternative Metal

Release Date EU: September 21st, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑