(8/10) Already the first notes of Fleshgod Apocalypse’ fifth album are massive . The Italian orchestral Death Metal fanatics don’t waste any time and start with ‘Fury’. That’s the title of the opener and it’s more than only a four-letter word. ‘Fury’ is a deadly start into an album that combines harsh Death Metal, progressive structures and a symphonic expression in a very good fashion.

Compared to the previous longplayers it’s ‘Veleno’ that aims less for perfection and more for spontaneity. There’s no doubt that each note played has a meaning and a place, but it’s the inspiration and flexibility that makes this album lively and deadly, both in one.

Fleshgod Apocalypse’ new longplayer is for sure living up to expectation. Hellish songs like the brutal ‘Sugar’ are great and it’s intermezzos (‘The Praying Mantis’ Strategy’) breaking the pattern and adding new arcs of suspense to the mix.

The racing ‘Worship and Forget’ with its subtile piano parts belongs to the winners too as well as musical wrecking ball ‘Pissing on the Score’. An orchestral focus comes with ‘The Day We’ll Be Gone’ into the picture and it’s ‘Absinthe’ that carries hysterical vocal parts as not heard elsewhere on ‘Veleno’

‘Veleno’ is a well-crafted hybrid monster, built on mighty riffs, harsh growls and an orchestral atmosphere. All elements support and strengthen each other, making. ‘Veleno’ to a dynamic, aggressive, evil and fascinating longplayer that’s as beautiful as malicious.



  1. Fury
  2. Carnivorous Lamb
  3. Sugar
  4. The Praying Mantis’Strategy
  5. Monnalisa
  6. Worship And Forget
  7. Absinthe
  8. Pissing On The Score
  9. The Day We’ll Be Gone
  10. Embrace The Oblivion
  11. Veleno

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Symphonic Death Metal

Release Date EU: May 24th, 2019



Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑