CD review HALCYON DAYS ‘Rain Soaked Pavement & Fresh Cut Grass’

(7/10) First of all, there is Halcyon Way and Halcyon Days. Both have a new album out on the market and have an extremely similar band name. This review is about Norwegian Halcyon Days that released with ‘Rain Soaked Pavements & Fresh Cut Grass’ their second full-length album. Inspired by bands like Underoath the sextet crafted 10 songs that reflect some metalcore roots that are sugared by catchy melodies. Clean vocals are dominant while screams act more as a spice, rarely used here and there.

Halcyon Days ’next  melodic metalcore adventures starts with ‘Fragments’ and ends 40 minutes later with the last tone of ‘Friendship’. What sits in between are eight additional songs that are all quite good but not really wowing. Things on ‘Rain Soaked Pavements & Fresh Cut Grass’ are well-crafted but I also got the idea of having heard similar sounds a few times earlier.

The partly calmer closer ‘Friendship’ might be a bit different, also due the atmospheric moments, but in general things are good without really sticking out. ‘Lights Out’ is such a song, reminding of American punk rock combined with melodic metalcore screams. I must say though, that the tunes is the heaviest one on the album, especially in the verse, ‘Cerca Trova’ brings the band closer to some mainstream melodies and the same goes for ‘Catcher’, which follows.

To sum up: ‘Rain Soaked Pavements & Fresh Cut Grass’ is a longplayer with an unconventional title, well-crafted songs, almost no surprises and a clean production. This record is a very solid one. Not more but also not less.





  1. Fragments
  2. Lights Out
  3. July
  4. Cerca Trova
  5. Catcher
  6. In Memoriam
  7. Keeper
  8. Monument
  9. Winter
  10. Friendship


Label: Indie Recordings

Genre: Melodic Metalcore

Release Date EU: June 15th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑