CD review POSSESSED ‘Revelations of Oblivion’

(9/10) The entire vita of Possessed is remarkable and so is the newest album ‘Revelations of Oblivion’. Not only that the band released a timeless and genre defining debut, it’s also the blows of fate that hit the band and their frontman Jeff Becerra, making them stronger than ever. Possessed and Becerra is a symbol for willpower and is an outfit that’s rather unique in Heavy Metal.

Possessed released with ‘Seven Churches’ a debut album that changed the world of Metal. This album strings together timeless and brutal Thrash Metal songs and it’s the closer ‘Death Metal’, that gave an entire new sub-genre its name. This debut moves Thrash Metal to another level and added with its fierceness an aspect to Metal that inspired many band to take things further when it comes to heaviness – Death Metal was born.

As good as Death Metal evolved over time, it was Possessed that didn’t gain from this movement. The seconds longplayer, ‘Beyond the Gates’, couldn’t live up to the standards the debut set and it was in 1987 when the book was closed on the extreme metallers from California.

Two decade later the band returned with Becerra being the only founding member. The fact that it’s him being the main man of the renewed Possessed is even more remarkable, considering the fact that he was left paralysed after a shooting, being the victim of a failed armed robbery attempt. With willpower and a lot of effort Becerra not only returned with Possessed for some live shows. The quintet also signed a contract with Nuclear Blast and the third album is on its way. What many metalheads dreamt about for a long time turns into reality early May – the highly anticipated new longplayer ‘Revelations of Oblivion’.

I guess that one of the main questions was/is, how the band would sound after three decades of absence. They sound great. It feels like all the circumstances of life during the last 20+ years made Possessed even stronger. The ten songs, framed by an intro and an outro, are a full metal blast with a strength that can be easily compared with the fabulous debut. The band could pick up an late 80’s vibe and shifted it into the 2019s with modern recording techniques helping the band to load the songs with a great sound.

After some tolling bells announced the upcoming metal storm it’s ‘No More Room in Hell’ that marks the first riff massacre. As if 30 years would be now time at all, Possessed picks it up where they left off with ‘Seven Churches’. After 30 years between releases things can go all directions and in this case it’s a great continuation of the earlier days. Wow.

The power, songs like ‘Damned’ and the thundering ‘Shadowcult’ carry is enormous. It’s the extremely hard working rhythm crew, the furious solos and Becerra’s unique vocals that pull you back into the late ’80s, just combined with a much better sound quality due to new recording possibilities. Still each of the songs gets oiut of the speakers very authentic and next to the already mentioned tracks it’s ‘Omen’ belonging to the highlights amongst highlights. In nearly seven minutes of length the quintet celebrates a musical tornado that fabulous. ‘Omen’, as well as the entire album, doesn’t contain any dull moment. ‘Revelations of Oblivion’ is the highly anticiptated Possessed classic and it exceeds expectations.

Simple conclusion: ‘Revelation of Oblivion’ is one of the, if not the THE, highlight in 2019 – a metal blast and enormous vigor.



  1. Chant of Oblivion
  2. No More Room in Hell
  3. Dominion
  4. Damned
  5. Demon
  6. Abandoned
  7. Shadowcult
  8. Omen
  9. Ritual
  10. The Word
  11. Graven
  12. Temple of Samael

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: May 10th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑