CD review WHITESNAKE ‘Flesh & Blood’

(8/10) What to write about a frontman and a band that’s more than 40 years in business? Certainly I don’t need to introduce you to David Coverdale and Whitesnake, the singer and band I’m talking about. If you didn’t live under a rock for the last decades you have heard about the legendary band earlier and it was the ‘1987’ album that’s one everyone’s lips.

‘Flesh & Blood’ is Whitesnake’s newest delivery and it’s a perfect fit to their discography. Eight years after ‘Forevermore’ saw the light of day it’ this longplayer that brings a lot of well-crafted Classic Rock right to your home.

Whitesnake’s 13th record features 13 songs and listening to them proves that ’13’ isn’t an unlucky number at all. If I’m not totally wrong ’13’ in China is similar to ‘secured growth’ and that interpretation works for Whitesnake too. David Coverdale and band are well-established and it might not be the constant commercial growth that counts, but for sure the mature level of quality the guys deliver with each album. Whitesnake never had a really bad album on their release listing and also ‘Flesh & Blood’ hasn’t any intention to change this continuity.

Whitesnake’s newest release with its Classic Rock anthems is again very much built around David Coverdale’s unique vocals although it’s Reb Beach that took over more responsibilities. He became the group’s bandleader and has co-written five songs on the album.

‘Flesh & Blood’ comprises of all trade marks you can expect from Whitesnake. There is the gently rocking ‘When I Think of You (Color Me Blue)’ and the grooving ‘Hey You (You Make me Rock)’ that brings a late eighties vibe. The title track is an energetic Blues rocker while ‘Heart of Stone’ is a soulful ballad a la Whitesnake.

But the new album is also a trip back in time with references to the days when songs like ‘Hit ‘en Run’ excited the Rock’n’Roll community. ‘Trouble is Your Middle Name’ is such a song and it’s the best track on the album. Also ‘Shut Up & Kiss Me’ aims in the same direction and the only song that could have been left out is the closer ‘Sand of Time’, since it can’t really compete with the other twelve hymns.

To conclude: ‘Flesh & Blood’ is a lively and energetic album. This longplayer is real and made by flesh and blood musicians. Whitesnake is still locked and loaded for a snakebite.



  1. Good To See You Again
  2. Gonna Be Alright
  3. Shut Up & Kiss Me
  4. Hey You (You Make Me Rock)
  5. Always & Forever
  6. When I Think Of You (Color Me Blue)
  7. Trouble Is Your Middle Name
  8. Flesh & Blood
  9. Well I Never
  10. Heart Of Stone
  11. Get Up
  12. After All
  13. Sands Of Time

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Classic Rock

Release Date EU: May 10th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: