CD review STEVE HACKETT ‘At the Edge of Light’

(9/10) Legendary rock guitarist Steve Hackett doesn’t need a long introduction. Everybody, who’s excited about rock music, knows the guitarist from London, either from his years with Genesis, his appearance on the two GTR albums or from his numerous solo releases.

The master of soulful guitar play finished work on his new solo album, which is number 26 in his impressive musical career. Hackett is blessed with an endless flow of creativity, which leads to brilliant rock music, captured in ten songs on ‘At the Edge of the Light’.

Steve Hackett describes the album as the one he has “finally connected properly to world music”. Ii couldn’t be describe better. ‘Underground Railway’ comes with great blues vibe, while it’s the variety of instruments, adding a global spirit to the album also. Sitar, tar and didgeridoo are unusual instruments for a rock album and they surprisingly fit extremely well, enriching songs like ‘Shadow and Flame’.

A highlight on ‘At the Edge of Light’ is placed right in the middle of the album. ‘Those Golden Wings’ is an 11 minutes epos and truly the centerpiece of this outstanding release. Orchestral sections, big soundscapes and great rock passages are the core of this composition, a song that shows the entire creativity of Hackett.

Not only that the record comes with exquisite music, it also comprises of a theme, combining the different songs. One could see ‘At the Edge of Light’ as a concept album, while Hackett describes it more as “a flow of core energy”. The guitarist addresses the current state of the world with all its unsettling tendencies when it comes to politics, social aspects, diversity and humanity.

Music doesn’t know any borders and Steve Hackett always made and makes music for anyone and anywhere. Although mankind might be ‘At the Edge of Light’, the album has a positive outlook. The flow of the last three songs (‘Descent’, ‘Conflict’ and ‘Peace’) ends with ‘Peace’, a sign that sows that there is still hope.

‘At the Edge of Light’ comprises of excellent rock music and a lyrical concept that addresses a topic that’s more than relevant these days.



1. Fallen Walls And Pedestals
2. Beasts In Our Time )
3. Under The Eye Of The Sun
4. Underground Railroad
5. Those Golden Wings
6. Shadow And Flame )
7. Hungry Years
8. Descent
9. Conflict
10. Peace

Label: InsideOut Music

Genre: Progressive Rock

Release Date EU: January 25th, 2019



Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑