CD review TOM MORELLO ‘The Atlas Underground’

(*/10) If you’re looking for an album, similar to Rage Against The Machine or Prophets Of Rage you might want to stop reading here since this album will surely not meet your expectations. ‘The Atlas Underground’ is an album, that has some songs that partly reflect the mentioned bands, like e.g. ‘Rabbit’s Revenge’ and’ Vigilante Nocturno’, but in generally spoke the longplayer is reflecting hip-hop, rap and EDM far more than rock. Tom Morello worked again with a long list of guests. Wu-Tang Clan members RZA and GZA are part of the album as well as guys like Marcus Mumford and many more. Already the list of guests on this album shows where this is going.

‘The Atlas Underground’ is a longplayer that’s built on Morello’s endless flow of song ideas and creativity. The borders of genres and styles don’t matter, an approach that is very vital but also has the risk of disappointment. Songs like ’We Don’t Need You (feat. Vic Mensa)’ features music most of the RATM fans might have some problems with and honestly, I also had a harder time to go through the entire album a couple of times. Not because of the album is a bad one. It’s just that you need to love this kind of music.

While listening to the album I had to think of the diversity captured on the ‘Judgement Night’ soundtrack, just without harsh guitars, aggressive shouts and massive riffs. ‘The Atlas Underground’ is special and therefore I also don’t rate the album. The ones of you with the widest musical tolerance could check out this album. For the rest, it’s maybe better to invest somewhere else.





  1. Battle Sirens (feat. Knife Party)
  2. Rabbit’s Revenge (feat. Bassnectar, Big Boi, Killer Mike)
  3. Every Step That I Take (feat. Portugal. The Man, Whethan)
  4. We Don’t Need You (feat. Vic Mensa)
  5. Find Another Way (feat. Marcus Mumford)
  6. How Long (feat. Steve Aoki, Rise Against’s Tim McIlrath)
  7. Lucky One (feat. K. Flay)
  8. One Nation (feat. Pretty Lights)
  9. Vigilante Nocturno (feat. Carl Restivo)
  10. Where It’s At Ain’t What It Is (feat. Gary Clark Jr., Nico Stadi)
  11. Roadrunner (feat. Leikeli47)
  12. Lead Poisoning (feat. GZA, RZA, Herobust)


Label: BMG / Warner Music

Genre: Crossover

Release Date EU: October 12th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑