CD review PRISTINE ‘Road Back to Ruin’

(8/10) When the sun wins battling the winterly darkness in the North of Norway some first sun rays make some new diamonds shine. One of these shiny news is Pristine’s newest album ‘Road Back to Ruin’.

Pristine is the brainchild of Heidi Solheim, a singer hailing from the far North. Tromsø is her home and that’s also where she studied singing. She founded Pristine in 2006 and the current album is already the fifth one for Solheim and Pristine.

Pristine, that’s heavy rock music with blues and classic rock influences. The fusion of all these elements leads, like with the earlier releases, to an emotional and intense longplayer with Solheim’s vocals being the centrepiece.

The quartet doesn’t waste any time and starts right away with ‘Sinnerman’ into the new album. The uptempo rocker is great start that paves way for the other ten tunes still to come.

After such an energetic start the band reduces pace with the title track. It’s a slowly rolling masterpiece that shows another side of Pristine’s music and is followed by the heavy grooving ‘Bluebird’. From time to time Pristine moves towards some metal roots. ‘Blind Spot’ is such a song. The mighty riff reminds of Black Sabbath and shows the entire width of Pristine’s sound, music that last but not least also features with ‘Your Heart’ a swinging tune. It’s a calmer and romantic moment on the album without being a ballad of the shelf.

Over the last 13 years Pristine evolved to a well-respected band with a fan base that’s constantly growing. Good music, built on great songwriting and musical capabilities, is the base for such a success and in case you missed these guys so far, close the gap and add them to your collection.



  1. Sinnerman 
  2. Road Back To Ruin 
  3. Bluebird 
  4. Landslide
  5. Aurora Skies 
  6. Pioneer 
  7. Blind Spo
  8. The Sober 
  9. Cause and Effect
  10. Your Song 
  11. Dead End 

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: April 19th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑