CD review KANE ROBERTS ‘The New Normal’

(7/10) Kane Roberts is known for being the guitarist of Alice Cooper in the second half of the ‘80s and he’s also known for his ‘Rambo-like’ appearance that makes a guitar look like a tooth stick (although it was shaped as a M-80 machine gun).

Next to the successful collaboration with Alice Cooper, Roberts also released solo albums on a regular base of which ‘Unsung Radio’ was the latest one. Seven years later it’s the next album released by the US guitarist, featuring ten songs.

This time it’s a remarkable list of guests, supporting Roberts on this new album. First, and most important, it’s Alice Cooper himself who’s lead vocals enrich one of the most unusual songs on the album. ‘Beginning of the End’ is the name of the track that also features some deep growls from Arch Enemy’s Alissa White-Gluz. Since I usually first listen to an album without reading much about the background, that song really stood out from the beginning. It didn’t fit into the context and that’s what makes it special.

Talking about guests, the rocking opener ‘Above & Beyond’ features Kip Winger, Paul Tyler and Ken Mary and it’s Lzzy Hale who was co-writing the calmer ‘The Lion’s Share’. Another well done melodic rocker is ‘Forever Out of Place’, a tune that comes with an acoustic verse that turns into a very catchy chorus. This chorus sticks right away without being too cliché and it’s these songs that more than balance some weaker spots, like the average ‘Who We Are’.

All in all ‘The New Normal’ is a well done hard rock, being entertaining, hard and heavy. Not that you haven’t heard this kind of music before, but there’s still enough good stuff on ‘The New Normal’ to enjoy these 42 minutes of rock.



  1. King Of The World
  2. Wonderful
  3. Beginning Of The End
  4. Who We Are
  5. Forever Out Of Place
  6. Leave This World Behind
  7. The Lion’s Share
  8. Leave Me In The Dark
  9. Above & Beyond
  10. Wrong

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: January 25th, 2019



Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑