CD review RAVEN ‘Screaming Murder Death From Above: Live In Aalborg’

(8/10) Not to know is sometimes not a bad thing at all. So how is this related to Raven’s new live album? The metal pioneers have been on tour in Europe towards the end of 2017. After having gone through a tough time with the band’s longtime drummer Joe Hasselvander suffering from a heart attack earlier that year, the Gallagher brothers found a replacer in Mike Heller. With having Heller on board, Raven was back with full force and ready to hit the road.

One of the 2017 shows took place at Skråen i Nordkraft in Aalborg, Denmark. If you ever had the chance to witness a Raven show you know, that the band never goes for average. It’s always a full metal blast with riff power, restless stage acting and a beat that feels like a punch in the face. The Aalborg show wasn’t any different. What was unusual though was the fact that the concert was recorded without the band knowing it.

Following the show, the band received a flash drive that included the recording and after having listened to it there was no other decision possible than sharing this night in Aalborg with the rest of the world. Here it is: Raven’s new live album ‘Screaming Murder Death From Above: Live In Aalborg’.

The CD comprises of 11 songs, reflecting an authentic Raven show in front of enthusiastic Danish metalheads and since the band wasn’t aware of the recording it’s 100% Raven you get with this release. The amount of energy the trio spreads after more than four decades in metal is amazing and still blows you away. It feels like the Gallagher brothers inhaling pure metal and it’s Mike Heller who brought some fresh air to the band. It’s the passion for metal,that units these guys. Raven’s motivation is music. It’s a matter of heart for the each of three guys and that’s what this CD is about. Horns up.



  1. Destroy All Monsters Hell Patrol
  2. All for One
  3. Hung Drawn and Quartered
  4. Rock until You Drop
  5. A.A.N.S.M.M.G.N.
  6. Tank Treads (The Blood Runs Red)
  7. Faster Than the Speed of Light
  8. On And On
  9. Break the Chain
  10. Crash Bang Wallop

Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: January 18th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑