HAMMERFALL releases ‘Legacy of Kings – 20th anniversary edition’

Swedish Hammerfall is without any doubt one of the bands the brought back traditional heavy metal in a time when grunge had its peak. In the mid-’90s heavy metal faced tough times and it wasn’t an easy period to start a new metal band. Swedish Heavy Metal Templars, Hammerfall, accepted the challenge and their debut went right into the charts. 

To keep the momentum Hammerfall worked on the sophomore album ‘Legacy of Kings’ which saw the light of day in 1998. This record was the final break-through for Hammerfall and since then the quintet is a well respected powerhouse in metal.

2018 is the year of ‘Legacy of Kings’ celebrating its 20th anniversary and what could be better than a special anniversary edition. ‘Legacy of Kings – 20 years anniversary edition’ comes as a boxset, featuring two CDs and a DVD. 

Disc one covers all the ten songs of the original album, all remastered. The second CD delivers some goodies with cover versions, live recordings and rehearsal demos. Last but not least it’s the DVD that comprises of interviews and live footage. All in all ‘Legacy of Kings – 20th anniversary edition’ is a well-down boxset that has enough extras, making it attractive also to oweners of the original CD. 


CD1 (album, remastered 2018)
01. Heeding The Call
02. Legacy Of Kings
03. Let The Hammer Fall
04. Dreamland
05. Remember Yesterday
06. At The End Of The Rainbow
07. Back To Back
08. Stronger Than All
09. Warriors Of Faith
10. The Fallen One

01. Eternal Dark (Picture cover)
02. I Want Out (Helloween cover)
03. Man On The Silver Mountain (Rainbow cover)
04. Legacy Of Kings (Medley 2018)
05. Heeding The Call (Live 2018)
06. Let The Hammer Fall (Live in Brazil 2017)
07. Legacy Of Kings (Live)
08. At The End Of The Rainbow (Live)
09. Stronger Than All (Live)
10. Heeding The Call (Rehearsal demo 1998)
11. Let The Hammer Fall (Rehearsal demo 1998)
12. Warriors Of Faith (Rehearsal demo 1998)
13. Back To Back (Rehearsal demo 1998)
14. At The End Of The Rainbow (Rehearsal demo 1998)
15. Dreamland (Rehearsal demo 1998)

DVD (Bonus)
01. Legacy Of Kings – Interview 2018
HammerFall – Live at Park Avenue, Jan. 19th 1999, Shure Endorsement Party
02. Heeding The Call
03. The Metal Age
04. Let The Hammer Fall
05. Steel Meets Steel
06. Breaking The Law (Judas Priest cover)
07. Shure Endorsement Ceremony

From “The First Crusade”
08. Listening Session
09. German TV Advertisement
10. Releaseparty for Legacy of Kings
11. Head Over Heels (Accept cover)
12. Balls To The Wall (Accept cover)
13. Breaking The Law (Judas Priest cover)
14. Outtakes And Sign Off

From “The Templar Renegade Crusades”
15. I Want Out (Video montage from Hansen Studios)
16. Unchained (Live in Switzerland)
17. Legacy Of Kings (Live in the U.S.A.)
18. Remember Yesterday (Live in Japan)
19. Warriors Of Faith (Live in Chile)
20. Let The Hammer Fall (Live in Sweden)
21. I Believe (Live in Sweden)
22. Breaking The Law (Video montage)

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: December 7th, 2018




Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: