CD review FLIGHT ‘A Leap Through Matter’

(9/10) Flight is hailing from Oslo, Norway. The band was founded in 2012 as a trio before the guys added with Kristian Ingvaldsen a second guitarist in 2013.

The Norwegian quartet premiered in 2015 with a self-titled album, acting as a springboard for inking a deal with High Roller Records. ‘A Leap Through Matter’ is the first delivery of this successful cooperation,successful especially since this longplayer belongs to the best ones in 2018.

Flight is rooted in 70’s rock and metal and breathes the spirit of the NWoBHM. Bands like the early Saxon, Maiden and Priest delivered a blueprint for Flight’s music. The four guys took the best from these well-known sources of inspiration and put together eight songs that are demanding,beautiful and rocking.

‘A Leap Through Matter’ is an acoustic journey back in time,an period most of us, due to age, solely heard of. Flight transfers these early days in rock and metal into there here and now. Without coming across as being old-fashion the four-piece band from Oslo convinces fans of classic rock by their warm and organic sound. Although the record is more complex than the debut it is still approachable due to the great melodies and hooks. Those are pure ear candy and spreads a cool vibe right away. The complexity is more weaved into the details, which makes each of the eight songs to far more the ‘just’a one-time-pleasure. Songs I can recommend is the catchy ‘The Pendulum’ which is a smooth rocker with an elegantly singing guitar. The title track is another highlight on the album, a song with a retro vibe and nice twists. In case you’re looking for faster stuff I can certainly recommend ‘Leave the Coast’.

I am impressed by the album and its eight songs. Classic rock and metal, done with passion and attention for details, that what ‘A Leap Through Matter’ is about. Very well done, guys.


1. Arrival
2. One with the Sun
3. The Pendulum
4. A Leap Through Matter
5. Ride On
6. The Traveller
7. Reviving Waves
8. Leave the Coast

Label: High Roller Records

Genre: Classic Metal

Release Date EU: November 23rd, 2018

On Facebook

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑