CD review DEF LEPPARD ‘The Story so Far … The Best of’

(*/10) Christmas is the period of storytelling and fairytales. The story of rock veterans Def Leppard is a fairytale-like, no doubt and the band tells ‘The Story so Far’ on their brand new compilation.

The comprehensive release features 35 songs and includes all the hits Def Leppard wrote and recorded in more the four decades of rock. The first Def Leppard song that reached my eardrum far back in time was ‘Rock of Ages’, which is, of course, part of this compilation. ‘Hysteria’ is present too and also the smashers from the megaseller. Next to the glorious days in the ’80s also well-crafted recent songs, like ‘C’mon, C’mon’, are part of the story and found a spot on the track list.

Last but not least the release includes the Depeche Mode cover ‘Personal Jesus’, done in a great fashion. What’s special too is the interesting remix of ‘Rock On’ and with ‘We All Need Christmas’ the band adds an acoustic and soulful song to the mix.

‘The Story so Far … The Best of’ documents an impressive career in rock and metal. The question that remains with these kinds of releases is who’s the potential target group. Fans do have all the records anyhow and if new fans can be gained with such an album is questionable. However, the songs are great, the band is legendary and the entertainment factor is high. Let’s get rocked.




Disc 1
1. Animal
2. Photograph
3. Pour Some Sugar On Me
4. Love Bites
5. Let’s Get Rocked
6. Armaggedon It
7. Foolin’
8. Two Steps Behind
9. Heaven Is
10. Rocket
11. Hysteria
12. Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad
13. Make Love Like A Man
14. Action
15. When Love & Hate Collide
16. Rock of Ages
17. Personal Jesu

Disc 2
1. Let’s Go
2. Promises
3. Slang
4. Bringin’ On The Heartbreak
5. Rock On (Radio Remix)
6. Nine Lives (feat. Tim McGraw)
7. Work It Out
8. Stand Up
9. Dangerous
10. Now
11. Undefeated
12. Tonight
13. C’Mon C’Mon
14. Man Enough
15. No Matter What
16. All I Want Is Everything
17. It’s All About Believing
18. Kings Of The World

Label:  Nuclear Blast

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: November 30th, 2018

On Facebook

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑