CD review VIRGIN STEELE ‘Seven Devils Moonshine’

(5/10) Virgin Steele is around since 35 years and to celebrate this anniversary David De Feis releases with his band a 5 discs comprising box that includes three new albums, plus the re-release of ‘Hymns of Victory’ and ‘The Book of Burning’.

Considering the pure amount of songs on this release makes an impression. Unfortunately quantity and quality are two different things. The sheer amount of songs doesn’t say anything about how good these are. 

After having listened to the three new discs I have to conclude that this album can’t live up to what you expect from a band like Virgin Steele. Songs like ‘Child of the Morning Star’ sound bloodless and powerless. It’s a tough exercise to cruise through this release since already the first songs lead to real disappointment. And who wants to listen to some cover songs on this album? Now, you can ask yourself who was waiting for a Virgin Steele version of Chris Isaak’s terrific ‘Wicked Games’ and the same goes for ‘Summertime’. With this release, David DeFeis dismantles the legendary status of Virgin Steele.

If you grew-up with iconic records like ‘Noble Savage’ you better keep on listening to the Virgin Steele classics rather than to this opulent but extremely trivial package. 





CD 1 “Ghost Harvest (The Spectral Vintage Sessions)” Vintage 1 – Black Wine For Mourning (new album)

  1. Seven Dead Within
  2. Green Dusk Blues
  3. Psychic Slaughter
  4. Bonedust (Orchestral Version)
  5. Hearts On Fire
  6. Child Of The Morning Star
  7. Murder In High-Gloss Relief
  8. Feral
  9. Justine
  10. Princess Amy
  11. Wicked Game

Clouds Of Oblivion Medley (Tracks 12 & 13)

  1. Little Wing
  2. The Gods Don’t Remember…


CD 2 “Ghost Harvest (The Spectral Vintage Sessions)” Vintage 2 – Red Wine For Warning (new album)

  1. The Evil In Her Eyes (Piano & Vocal Version)
  2. Feelin’ Alright
  3. Sister Moon

Summertime Darkness Suite (Tracks 4, 5, & 6)

  1. Sweating Into Dawn
  2. Summertime
  3. Black Leaves Swirl Down My Street
  4. Rip Off

The Gods Are Hungry Triptych (Tracks 8, 9, & 10)

  1. The Gods Are Hungry Poem
  2. The Poisoned Wound
  3. The Birth Of Beauty
  4. Profession Of Violence…
  5. Rock Steady
  6. Nutshell
  7. Slow & Easy “Intro”
  8. Jesus Just Left Chicago

Late Night Barroom Hoodoo Medley (Tracks 16, 17, 18, & 19)

  1. Soul Kitchen
  2. When The Music’s Over
  3. Crawling King Snake
  4. When The Music’s Over “Reprise”
  5. Imhullu

The Drained White Suite (Tracks 21, 22, & 23)

  1. After Dark
  2. Wake The Dead
  3. The Graveyard Dance
  4. The Triple Goddess
  5. Twilight Of The Gods (Live Acoustic Rehearsal Version)
  6. Transfiguration (Live Acoustic Rehearsal Version)


CD 3 “Gothic Voodoo Anthems” (new album)

  1. I Will Come For You (Orchestral Version)
  2. Queen Of The Dead (Orchestral Version)
  3. The Orpheus Taboo (Orchestral Version)
  4. Kingdom Of The Fearless (The Destruction Of Troy) (Orchestral Version)
  5. The Black Light Bacchanalia (Orchestral Version)
  6. Zeus Ascendant
  7. By The Hammer Of Zeus (And The Wrecking Ball Of Thor) (Orchestral Version)

The Gothic Voodoo Suite (Tracks 8, 9 & 10)

  1. Rumanian Folk Dance No. 3 “Pe Loc”
  2. Delirium “Excerpt”
  3. Snakeskin Voodoo Man (Orchestral Version)
  4. The Enchanter

The Fire & Ice Medley (Tracks 12, 13 & 14)

  1. Bone China
  2. No Quarter
  3. Bone China “Reprise”

Passion In The French Quarter Medley (Tracks 15 & 16)

  1. Chloe Dancer
  2. Gentle Groove
  3. Darkness-Darkness
  4. Death Letter Blues
  5. Spoonful


CD 4 “Hymns To Victory” (re-release)

  1. Flames Of Thy Power (From Blood They Rise)
  2. Through The Ring Of Fire
  3. Invictus
  4. Crown Of Glory (Unscarred) (In Fury Mix)
  5. Kingdom Of The Fearless (The Destruction Of Troy)
  6. The Spirit Of Steele (Acoustic Version)
  7. A Symphony Of Steele (Battle Mix)
  8. The Burning Of Rome (Cry For Pompeii)
  9. I Will Come For You
  10. Dust From The Burning & Amaranth (Orchestral Versions) (Bonus Tracks)
  11. Noble Savage (Long Lost Early Mix)
  12. Mists Of Avalon
  13. Emalaith


CD 5 “The Book Of Burning” (Re-Release)

  1. Conjurtion Of The Watcher
  2. Don’t Say Goodbye (Tonight)
  3. Rain Of Fire
  4. Annihilation
  5. Hellfire Woman
  6. Children Of The Storm
  7. The Chosen Ones
  8. The Succubus
  9. Minuet In G Minor
  10. The Redeemer
  11. I Am The One
  12. Hot And Wild
  13. Birth Through Fire
  14. Guardians Of The Flame
  15. The Final Days
  16. A Cry In The Night
  17. Queen Of The Dead (Nordic Twilight Version) (Bonus Track)


Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: November 23rd, 2018

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: