CD review SKULL PIT ‘Skull Pit’

(8/10) Skull Pit is a great example of what can be achieved with a global approach. In this specific case, it’s a collaboration of two musicians that identified a common passion for bands like Motörhead. The two guys we’re talking about is Mem V. Stein (Exumer) and Tatsu Mikami (Church Of Misery).

The two guys maintain an online correspondent for many years, based on respect and love for each other’s band. It was this connection that evolved over time to what can be enjoyed in the here and now. Although Exumer and Church Of Misery come from different planets in metal, the guys discovered a common passion for Motörhead and the 80’s NWoBHM spirit. They started to write and record songs and Skull Pit was born.

The duo debuts with ‘Skull Pit’, an album that comprises of nine songs plus a cover version. The latter is the Rose Tattoo cover of ‘All the Lessons’, also featuring Madball’s Brian Daniels. The other nine tracks on this debut are dirty rock’n’rollers that kick ass. High-speed smasher like ‘Soul Raider’  and ‘Roller’ are anarchic and dynamic deliveries, while ‘Year of the Dog’ is medium paced and adds a merciless groove to the total. 

The real highlight though is entitled ‘Fire Breather’. This raging anthem fires on all cylinders. Vocals, riffs and the brutal beat belongs to the best me ears got offered in 2018.

Skull Pit is a band/album you shouldn’t miss. Regardless of what you think about Steins’ and Mikami’s motherships, this album should be part of your collection. Dirty and anarchic rock’n’roll can’t sound much better – the essence of rock, covered in ten chapters.





  1. Double Cross
  2. Roller
  3. Fire Breather
  4. Year of the Dog
  5. Soul Rider
  6. Blood Titan
  7. Marauders
  8. The Line
  9. World Spirit
  10. All the Lessons (Rose Tattoo cover)


Label: Metal Blade Records

Genre: Rock’n’Roll

Release Date EU: November 16th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑