CD review IAN GILLAN & THE JAVELINS ‘Ian Gillan & The Javelins’

(9/10) Ian Gillan & The Javelins has a history that goes back to the early 60’s, a time when The Beatles and the Rolling Stones played some cover versions of songs of Chubby Checker and Chuck Berry. The Javelins is another band from this period and the guys were influenced by various pop-, soul-, country-, jazz- and blues-musicians. The Javelines that’s Ian Gillan (v), Gordon Fairminer (g), Tony Tacon (g), Tony Whitfield (b) and Keith Roach (d) and this quintet played concerts at smaller venues in front of a constant growing audience. Those were the 60’s that undergo a revival in the here and now.

His contribution to The Javelins helped Ian Gillan to find his own style of singing and acted as a springboard for joining Deep Purple some years later. After many decades and huge successes with Deep Purple, The Javelins came together to record an album simply entitled ‘Ian Gillan & The Javelins’. The track list of this longplayer is build on a setlist from appr. 1963 and 45 years later the rock community can enjoy the songs on a long overdue release. 

The five guys have a cool and swinging vibe. It feels like buddies coming together and revitalize a time when they were around 18 years old. It’s songs from Chuck Berry, The Drifters, Buddy Holly and others that have been played in the early 60’s and recorded in 2018. ‘Ian Gillan & The Javelins’ was recorded in four days in Hamburg, which is one of the reasons why this record feels so authentic. It’s five passionate rock musicians that live their dream of rock music. This album is not about selling as much as possible pieces or having the most modern sound. It’s about transferring the essence and spirit of rock music, by honoring some of the most influential rock pioneers. 

Chuck Berry’s ‘Rock’n’Roll Music’, ‘Do You Love Me’, originally by The Contours, and Holin’ Wolf’s ‘Smockstack Lightin” are great songs, newly interpreted by The Javelines. In total, the album features 16 of these classics in rock and it’s a treat to listen to this album. It honors the roots of rock and metal music and already this should be reason enough to add the longplayer to your collection. Rock music can’t be more honest and to the point than what you get with ‘Ian Gillan & The Javelins’.





  1. Do You Love Me
  2. Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)
  3. Memphis, Tennessee
  4. Little Egypt (Ying-Yang)
  5. High School Confidential
  6. It’s So Easy!
  7. Save The Last Dance For Me
  8. Rock and Roll Music
  9. Chains
  10. Another Saturday Night
  11. You’re Gonna Ruin Me Baby
  12. Smokestack Lightnin’
  13. Hallelujah I Love Her So
  14. Heartbeat
  15. What I’d Say
  16. Mona (I Need You Baby)


Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: August 31st, 2018

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: