CD review HATEFUL AGONY ‘Plastic Culture Pestilance’

(7/10) Talking about German thrash metal often means mentioning the generation of pioneers. Bands like Kreator, Destruction and Sodom were and still are the spearhead of this genre. These bands established thrash metal made in Germany and earn a lot of worldwide respect and attention.

What stands a bit in the shadows of these legendary bands is a next generation of thrash bands hailing from Germany. Traitor, as one example, is a gang of metalheads that releases since 2009 excellent metal records on a constant base and a band that’s even a bit longer in business is Munich-based Hateful Agony. 

The Bavarian quartet clearly states since 1997, that Bavaria has more to offer than Lederhosen and Oktoberfest. The band debut in 2000 with ‘Existence is Punishment’ with four more longplayers following over time.

After having inked a deal with Violent Creek Records, the quartet has a great opportunity to spread the word about their music in wider circles than what was possible up till now. The sixth longplayer is the first one for the new label and comprises of ten songs, focusing on the essence of thrash metal. Hateful Agony doesn’t use a bells and whistles approach for their music. Tracks like ‘Endure the Pain’ and ‘Black Blood’ are songs that unveil a full joy by simplicity. These two examples represent the furious songs very well, with the latter partly reminding of bands like Exodus. While ‘speed’ is an asset for each of the songs things escalate with the extremely fast  ‘Philip in the Attic’, bringing back an oldschool trash-/speed metal vibe. Mercilessness can’t be transformed into metal in a much better way.

‘Plastic Culture Pestilence’ is an oldschool thrash metal album. The quartet follows their heart and instincts. It’s their dedication for heavy smashing metal that drives the album into a great direction. Thumbs up.





  1. Killer Each Other
  2. Endure the Pain
  3. The Iceman
  4. Obsessed with Death
  5. Philip in the Attic
  6. Eternal Punishment
  7. Life’s Failure
  8. Black Blood
  9. Plastic Culture Pestilance
  10. Resurrect the Dead


Label: Violent Creek Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: August 17th, 2018


Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑