(8/10) Nils Patrik Johansson is a veteran when it comes to rock and metal. He’s the voice of Swedish metal powerhouse Astral Doors, showing his passion for classic rock and traditional metal since 2003. Comparisons with the legendary Ronnie James Dio have been made on regular base, which shows the talent that comes with the Swedish singer. Next to Astral Doors, Johansson also has been part of Civil War and now he’s taking a next step. Johansson releases a solo album; his first one to date.

‘Evil Deluxe’ is coming with twelve metal tracks that have been recorded by Johansson, together with Lars Chriss (g), Fredrik Johansson (d) and Andy Loos (b). This quartet unleashed their passion for traditional metal on ‘Evil Deluxe’, an album that  makes a feature of the singer’s great voice.

Songs like ‘Circle in the Sky’ present the cross-references to the mentioned Ronnie James Dio while the galloping ‘Metalhead’ reflects some Teutonic metal inspiration. It reminds especially in the chorus of German metal pioneers Accept while it’s no less than Grave Diggers Chris Boltendahl who has a guest appearance too.

‘Baal’ is a short intro to the album, followed by the moderate paced hymn ‘Evil Deluxe’. ‘Estonia’ shifts to the next gear before the ‘uptempo ‘Gasoline’ adds some speed to the total. Another excellent song on the album is entitled ‘Burning’ with its galloping rhythm and sing-a-long chorus.

Nils Patrik Johansson’s first solo ambition is a success. It comprises of great songs, sung by one of the best singers of traditional metal these days. Bang your head.





  1. Baal
  2. Evil Deluxe
  3. Estonia
  4. Gasoline
  5. How the west was won
  6. September Black
  7. Kings and Queens
  8. Burning
  9. Metal Head
  10. Circle in the sky
  11. Dark Evolution
  12. A Waltz for Paris


Label: Metalville

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: May 25th, 2018

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: