CD review SLAPSHOT ‘Make America Hate Again’

(7/10) Looking up ‘slap shot’ in the dictionary gives you the following definition. “A very powerful, fast-moving shot of the puck on goal made with a full backswing of the stick and an extended follow-through” (

Transferring this definition to Boston-based hardcore veterans Slapshot is spot on.  Slapshot’s songs are fast and extremely powerful. The entire energy that comes with a slap-shot in ice hockey is weaved into each hardcore track of Boston’s hardcore icons.

The band is definitely no rookie. The four-piece powerhouse began in 1985 and debut a year later with ‘Back to the Map’. Additional records followed and it’s 2018 being the year of a new delivery.

‘Make America Hate Again’ is the title of the newest strike, comprising of eleven songs, equaling a 23 minutes running time. The quartet puts the entire focus on brute power that characterizes this album. Each of the songs is a ‘slap shot’ that scores. It seems like the current state of the earth has been an additional motivator for the band to come up with raging hardcore anthems that are as relevant as we’re used to from Slapshot.

The only little point of critic is that the fact that the album sounds a bit one-dimensional. Each of the songs itself is a powerful smasher with the totality of all songs reflecting more an expression of ‘the same thing only different’. A bit more variation would have been beneficial for an album that still belongs to the great hardcore releases this year. It’s hard to win games only with ‘slap-shots’ although Slapshot’s hardcore score very often. However, hardcore fans and Slapshot enthusiasts will like the album for sure.





  1. Edge Break Your Face
  2. Hypocrite
  3. Remedy
  4. Alone
  5. Cry For Help
  6. Trainwreck
  7. I Got Your Number
  8. It’s Still About You
  9. Make America Hate Again
  10. White Flag
  11. One Last Chance


Label: Bridge 9

Genre: Hardcore

Release date EU: June 1st, 2018


Official Slapshot website

Slaphot on Facebook

Comments are closed.

Powered by

Up ↑