CD review DUEL ‘Valley of Shadows’

(7/10) Texas doom rockers Duel are back with a new album entitled ‘Valley of Shadows’. Duel is hailing from Austin, Texas and their music is deeply rooted in ’70s Rock and Metal. Although the album has a certain retro-vibe things still sound modern and dynamic. There isn’t a dull moment on this album, just Duel moments.

The longplayer that gets with ‘Black Magic Summer’ out of the box in a great fashion. The grooving smasher is a really cool start into the album and acts as a door opener to the other seven songs. ‘Black Magic Summer’ is a good appetiser that generates the wish of listening to more songs on ”Valley of Shadows’.

The reward of spending some extra time with this album are songs like the rocking ‘Broken Mirror’ and the psychedelic ‘Tyrant on the Throne’, a song with a galloping rhythm and a great organic sound. The only little downer is that fact that the longplayer isn’t a really ‘long’ one. 38 minutes running time isn’t really a lot. However, these 30+ minutes are used very effectively and are for sure no waste of time.



  1. Black Magic Summer
  2. Red Moon Forming
  3. Drifting Alone
  4. Strike and Disappear
  5. Broken Mirror
  6. Tyrant on the Throne
  7. I Feel No Pain
  8. The Bleeding Heart

Label: Heavy Psych Sounds

Genre: Psychedelic Doom Metal

Release Date EU: May 17th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: