CD review NINE SHRINES ‘Retribution Therapy’

(6/10) A new album is out and you could wonder what’s new. ‘Retribution Therapy’ is Nine Shrines’ first album, a debut that follows an EP entitled ‘Misery’. The quintet, hailing from Ohio, US is inspired by the ’90s and early ’00s, which leads to song reflecting a fusion of Alternative- and Modern Metal.

‘Retribution Therapy’ carries twelve songs that should be heavy and massive. Songs like the raging ‘Ringworm’ also deliver to this ambition but in general the tunes reflect too much of a cookie-cutter approach. Down-tuned guitars provide standard riffing and ‘standard’ is in general a word that describes this debut very well. What’s missing with this release are the unexpected twists and the surprising shifts. Each of the songs is solid but predictable and what’s lacking is individuality.

‘Retribution Therapy’ reflects some Slipknot- and Disturbed inspiration without getting close to the unique sound of these bands. Well-crafted doesn’t necessarily also mean that an album is entertaining. There are other things you could do in 40 minutes, being more entertaining.



  1. Nimrod
  2. Retribution Therapy
  3. Chain Reaction
  4. Ringworm
  5. Happy Happy
  6. Dead
  7. Hymn
  8. Conjure
  9. Pretty Little Psycho
  10. Ghost
  11. Sick Like Me
  12. Counterfeit

Label: Mascot Label Group

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: April 26th, 2019


Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑