CD review MORK ‘Det Svarte Juv’

(9/10) It’s not always the superlatives that make an album special and standing out from the masses. It’s not always about complexity, speed and bombastic sounds. Music is a career of emotions and the new album from Mork delivers to the point.

Mork, that’s the brain child of Thomas Eriksen and ‘Det Svarte Juv’ is album number four he releases with Mork. If you translet ‘Det Svarte Juv’ it would be something like ‘the black gorge’ and it reflects pretty much the situation that led to this black metal milestone.

Eriksen went through tough times of tragedy ad misery in the early 2017. Connected emotion were sadness, hate and pain, but also self-belief and strength. These emotions are the base for the ten songs that made it on this black metal highlight and ensure authentic music that gives you goose bumps.

Evil and darkness are constant companions on the album, a release that comes with hellish riffs, great variations of pace and a morbid aura. What makes the album special is the fact that it transfers an early Darkthrone vibe into the here and now. Not being over-produced at all the longplayer gains by its simplicity and primitivity. Nothing is fancy or bombastic on this album. ‘Det Svarte Juv’ is raw, basic and devilish. It’s authentic and real, something you can hear in every songs and every note played. ‘Det Svarte Juv’ is a sonic maelstrom that pulls you into a diabolic abyss.



  1. Mørkelegglse
  2. Da Himmelen Falt
  3. På Tvers Av Tidene
  4. Den Utstøtte
  5. I Flammens Favn
  6. Skarpretterens Øks
  7. Den Kalde Blodsvei
  8. Siste Reis
  9. Karantene
  10. Det Svarte Juv

Label: Peaceville Records

Genre: Black Metal

Release Date EU: April 19th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: