CD review THE MUTE GODS ‘Atheists & Believers’

(8/10) The Mute Gods is a team of well-respected musicians in the field of progressive rock music. Nick Beggs (Steven Wilson, Steve Hackett), Roger King (Steve Hackett) and Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats, The Sea Within) are the heart of the band that releases with ‘Atheistis and Believers’ their third album. The new longplayer also features guests, like Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson, Craig Blundell and Rob Townsend, supporting the trio on their new musical endeavour.

Records by The Mute Gods are the opposite of musical fast-food. It’s a well-chosen combination of ingredients that leads to ten new songs. Lyrically it is the main theme of the album that addresses the post-fact century in which “truth is no longer fashionable”. In this sense the new album is a continuation of the previous release and underlines The Mute Gods ambition of lasering in on more than great music only. Lyrics count for the trio and props to the music.

A great song on the album is ‘Knucklehed’ with its strong rhythm and grooving bassline. Also the more intricate ‘Envy the Dead’ is a treat for ears as the heavier songs in general are great moments on ‘Atheists & Believers’. It’s not they are better than the cinematic compositions (‘Old Men’ and ‘I Think of You’), but songs like the Rush-reminding ‘Sonic Boom’ are the real energizers on ‘Atheists & Believers’.

All in all, The Mute Gods’ newest studio album comes with entertaining and multilayered rock songs, which are appealing to fans of hand-crafted music.



  1. Atheists and Believers
  2. One Day
  3. Knucklehed
  4. Envy the Dead
  5. Sonic Boom
  6. Old Men
  7. The House Where Love Once Lived
  8. Iridium Heart
  9. Twisted World Godless Universe
  10. I Think of You

Label: InsideOut Music

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: March 22nd. 2019



Comments are closed.

Powered by

Up ↑