CD review ROSY VISTA ‘Unbelievable’

(7/10) Rosy Vista is a band that might not be known by many metalheads. The all-girls-band was active between 1984 and 1989, a period in which they released an EP and two 7” singles. Also some tour activities took place in those five years, opening for act like Uriah Heep and Motley Crue. What could not be achieved though was a full-length debut. In this sense it was a mission incomplete at the end of the ‘80s.

30 years later the gap’s closed. Rosy Vista’s debut is right in the starting blocks, ready to rock. ‘Unbelievable’ is the title of this first longplayer and it’s a kind of unbelievable thing that the debut gets shipped to the record stores 35 years after the band’s foundation.

Rosy Vista is the brainchild of Anca Graterol (g), who also could reactivate with Andrea Schwarz (v) and Marina Hlubek (d) two more original band members. The line-up is completed by Angela Mann who newly started and it’s this four piece band that recorded 12 songs.

Half of the songs are new ones, while five have been released already on the 1985 EP. Last but not least ‘Unbelievable’ contains a cover version, which is the legendary ‘Born to be Wild’, originally by Steppenwolf.

Knowing the history of Rosy Vista means that you don’t need to look into the crystal ball for assuming what kind of music the quartet offers. ‘Unbelievable’ is the carrier of traditional heavy metal/hard rock songs, all of them being solid and done with full commitment. It’s not rocket science though and it’s nit that we haven’t heard this kind of music before. However, having the willpower and dedication to keep the metal spirit alive for more than 30 and funnel all the ambition in this debut is a great thing.

Fans of traditional and powerful metal should check out this quartet. It’s a nice throwback into a time when metal started to grow.



  1. Crazy
  2. Sadistic Lover
  3. Master of Control
  4. Too Much Feeling
  5. Tables Are Turned
  6. Until I’m Satisfied
  7. Hopatina
  8. Poor Rosy
  9. Sound of Your Love
  10. Rockin’ Through the Night
  11. Changin’ My Mind
  12. Born To Be Wild

Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: February 8th, 2019


Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: