CD review STEELHEART ‘Rock’n Milan’

(*/10) Steelheart will get all the credit for being a successful rock outfit in the early ’90s. The guys released with ‘Steelherat’ and ‘Tangled in Rain’ to formidable hardrock albums that scored good success in the era of an upcoming grunge hype.

Unfortunately, a drastic line-up change led to a new situation and the band dropped it. ‘Wait’ didn’t even get close to the achievements of the previous two albums, followed by a 12 years radio silence.

The band, being in the meantime very much Miljenko Matijevic with some team members, came back in 2017 with their latest studio release. ‘Through Worlds of Stardust’ was surprisingly good and it was the Milan show in April 2017 that was recorded and is now released as a CD.

To my surprise the show starts with two Steel Dragon songs. And not enough with that. The intro of ‘Blood Pollution’ is endless and it’s ‘Livin’ the Life’ that finally provides a first kick. What was less of a surprise was a focus on the debut. Tracks like “Gimme Gimme’ and ‘Rock’n’Roll (I Just Wanna)’ bring back lots of good memories.

What’s a bit of a downer though is the drum solo. Not because of the way it sounds, but an extra song from the latest studio album would have done a better job.

Next to this throwback-feeling, the sound of the album is a good one and Matijevic has still a great voice after all these years which isn’t a given. ‘Rock’n Milan’ is a live album that reminds of some great days in Hard Rock and it’s a kind of well-done retrospective with a strong party vibe included.



  1. Blood Pollution
  2. Livin’ the Life
  3. Gimme Gimme
  4. Like Never Before
  5. Live to Die
  6. My Dirty Girl
  7. She’s Gone
  8. Cabernet
  9. Drum Solo
  10. Everybody Loves Eileen
  11. Rockn’Roll (I Just Wanna)
  12. I’ll Never Let You Go
  13. We All Die Young

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: December 8th, 2018



Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑