CD review FLEDDY MELCULY ‘ Live @ Graspop Metal Meeting ’18

(8/10) I’m not sure how many of you heard of Fleddy Melculy earlier. The band is well-known in the Benelux and the moniker is already a hint that things aren’t be taken that seriously, at least when it comes to the lyrics.

Fleddy Melculy started a few years ago and is the brainchild of De Fanfaar frontman Joris Camerlynck. It’s important to know, that this outfit isn’t a Queen cover band. The moniker is representing the humoristic side of the band, also manifested on an EP and two longplayers.

Fleddy Melculy’s lyrics are kept in Flemish, which might not help a lot in reaching a wider fanbase. What helps much more on winning over new fans are shows played at bigger festivals in Europe. One of those was the gig at Graspop 2018, a show that was recorded and is now available on CD.

Fleddy Melculy’s show featured a 14 songs comprising setlist and an intro. The hardcore/thrash fusion, that’s how I would describe the music, led to enthusiastic reactions in front of the stage, something that can be sensed very well with this release.

Fleddy Melculy is a band that needs to be looked at with a twinkle in the eye. One of the most important ingredients is fun and humor that comes with hard riffs and merciless beats. More than ones I had to think of Gang Green while listening to this live release and I almost would go that far that Fleddy Melculy is the Belgium version. Maybe a renaming into Gang Gleen should be considered. Anyhow, this release comes with a party vibe and a wrecking ball approach or in other words: It’s real fun.



  1. Intro
  2. Varken
  3. Foto van uw hoofd
  4. Feestje in uw huisje
  5. Geen vlees wel vis
  6. Apu van de nightshop
  7. Camouflage
  8. Ik ben kwaad
  9. 668
  10. Ik haat jazz
  11. Brood
  12. Pinker
  13. Voor altijd jong
  14. T-shirt van Metallica
  15. T-shirt from Metallica (bonus track)

Label: Sony BeNeLux

Genre: Crossover

Release Date EU: December 7th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑