Classics: MORDRED ‘Fool’s Game’

Today I want to take you back into 1989, a time when San Francisco-based Mordred premiered with ‘Fool’s Game’. After having produced three demo tapes the guys could ink a contract with Noise International and released a debut that showed a well-executed fusion of thrash metal and funk.

In the second half of the 80’s thrash metal faced the first peak with bands like Metallica, Slayer, and others constantly widening their fanbase. Next to the giants of thrash metal, it was Suicidal Tendencies who established a crossover sound that merged many different influences into a unique new style that survived all trends over time.

Mordred was another band that brought totally different styles together. On the one hand ‘Fool’s Game’ includes powerful thrash anthems like ‘Sever and Splice’ and the massive ‘State of Mind’. 

What makes the sound of this album special though are the funk elements the quintet weaves into song like ‘Every Day’s a Holiday’. The funky moments are also coming back in the Rick James cover ‘Super Freak’, which is rearranged by Mordred in a really good way. The tune is a real highlight on the album.  Although thrash metal is the dominant style on ‘Fool’s Game’ it’s the funky sidesteps that make the album to a special one. Mordred was for sure a forerunner with their sound and already from this perspective ‘Fool’s Game’ is still relevant in the here and now.

Mordred released two more longplayers that couldn’t reach to the unleashed power of the debut. The sophomore ‘In This Life’ though was still a remarkable release before things started to cool down.

Nowadays the band is active and a glimpse on Mordred’s Facebook timeline shows photos of the guys with “Pre-production” mentioned in the header. Let’s see if we can welcome a new Mordred album in the near future.



  1. State of Mind
  2. Spectacle of Fear
  3. Every Day’s a Holiday
  4. Spellbound
  5. Sever and Splice
  6. The Artist
  7. Shatter
  8. Reckless Abandon
  9. Super Freak (Rick James cover)
  10. Numb


Label: Noise International

Genre: Thrash Metal / Crossover

Release Date: 1989

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: