CD review ANN WILSON ‘Immortal’

(8/10) I don’t think that I have to introduce Ann Wilson to readers of Markus Heavy Music Blog. The singer is very well known from Heart, the band she and her sister Nancy celebrate huge success with. Ann Wilson worked recently on a solo album that will be released mid-September. ‘Immortal’ is the title of this longplayer that comprises of ten songs.

The songs on the album are all cover versions. The singer went for songs that musically and/or emotionally impacted her and what’s in common with all the ten songs is that the original artist is no longer among us.

‘Immortal’ is exciting for various reasons. The first winning factor is Wilson’s great voice, which already enriched Heart classics like ‘Barracuda’. Ann Wilson can be immediately be identified by her great voice. Another great thing is the fact that the album can be seen as a release that honors the creative work of rock and soul legends. Last but not least it’s the diversity of styles that find some common ground on ‘Immortal’, with Ann Wilson’s voice keeping things together.

The album comprises of songs from Audioslave (‘I am the Highway’) up to Amy Winehouse’s ‘Back in Black’. Regardless where you drop the needle on this record, the song is a little highlight in itself. Listeners can feel with each of the songs that recording them was more than just a piece of work that was done. It was a matter of the heart that contains a lot of emotions and passion.

What’s pretty impressive too is the way these classics in music are put together on the tracklist. David Bowie’s ‘I’m Afraid of Americans’ with its heavy outburst is followed by ‘Politicians’ (Cream) with its more psychedelic expression. A true classic is the closer on the album. Gerry Rafferty’s ‘Baker Street’ is the final strike on this ten songs featuring cover album that belongs to the best ones since quite some time. Excellent work.





  1. You Don’t Own Me (Lesley Gore)
  2. I am the Highway (Audioslave)
  3. Luna (Tom Petty)
  4. I’m Afraid of Americans (David Bowie)
  5. Politicians (Cream)
  6. A Thousand Kisses Deep (Leonhard Cohen)
  7. Life in the Fast Lane (The Eagles)
  8. Back to Black (Amy Winehouse)
  9. A Different Corner (George Michaels)
  10. Baker Street (Gerry Rafferty)


Label: BMG

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: September 14th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑