CD review THE PINEAPPLE THIEF ‘Dissolution’

(9/10) The Pineapple Thief’s new album ‘Dissolution’ is a very thoughtful and reflective one. ‘Dissolution’ is a word that has many meanings. It’s this word that is the anchor point for Bruce Soord, to address the topic of social media, effecting human beings and human interaction, which is not only a positive one.

The lyrical concept of ‘Dissolution’ zooms in on the dark side of social media, moments when everything’s is played out in the open with the chance for everybody to comment. The dissolution of a relationship is used for addressing this overarching topic and unveils the danger, fear and angst that can lead to emotional conflicts. The album describes the world we’re living in and puts a mirror in front of each of us.

Next to the lyrical concept, the album is also special when it comes to its music. Bruce Soord is the main man of The Pineapple Thief and he found a companion that shares a similar vision. Former Porcupine Tree/King Crimson drummer Gavin Harrison became a fix member of the quartet that also comprises of Jon Sykes (b) and Steve Kitch (key).

Harrison played drums on ‘Your Wilderness’ and after having been on tour with The Pineapple Thief, Soord and Harrison felt a shared vision about music and the discovered the possibility of challenging each other from a song-writing perspective. The collaboration of these creative minds led to the most mature The Pineapple Thief album with songs that can be seen as compositions.

Connected to the theme, each of the tunes on ‘Dissolution’ is an emotional journey, created by words, notes and tones. The Pineapple Thief launches the nine chapter including milestone end of August, an album that’s full of excellent art rock. Each of the songs fit perfectly into the context of the album, with the 11 minutes ‘White Mist’ being a sort of centerpiece. The song, that features a guest appearance of experimental guitarist David Torn, is an impressive one that comprises of a lot of feel and it’s the details included that slowly blossom with each time you’re listening to it.

‘Dissolution’ is a highlight when it comes to progressive music and art rock. This album is built with a holistic approach in mind, with music and lyrics being in perfect synchronicity. Impressive.





  1. Not Naming Any Names 
  2. Try As I Might 
  3. Threatening War 
  4. Uncovering Your Tracks 
  5. All That You’ve Got
  6. Far Below 
  7. Pillar of Salt 
  8. White Mist 
  9. Shed A Light 



Genre: Prog Rock

Release Date EU: August 31st, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑